When you realise it really is an earthquake

in #life7 years ago (edited)

mmexport1502203236141.jpg

My fellow brits can relate with me on this one. What are you supposed to do on the top floor and an earthquake hits your town? How would you know it's an earthquake without ever witnessing an earthquake. Well, i'll tell you what i did - nothing. Nothing exactly, apart from letting shit run down my trousers and running from room to room just to make sure it is happening everywhere. I was speechless. I was scared. I have never felt anything like it and at the same time, i have no knowledge regarding the safety precautions. So, i was screwed, twice over in fact. Yet my heart was still racing and at the same time i stumble on my friends messages of fear and worry for safety as well as a good luck message. Was this the end? Sincere hopes off it all coming to an end, i mean the earthquake, not the world, however, i'll ask again what exactly is the safety advice for earthquakes? Is it run for safety or stay seated? Thankfully, my non english speaking neighbours knock the door in a panic, grab my hand and scream "run". So i ran, twenty floors, to escape an apartment that managed to stay upright. Imagine that! At the moment, the feeling of being punked and the chinese equivalent to Ashton Kutcher running from around the corner flirts with my train of thought. However, luckily, there was no chinese ashton kutcher but it was an actual situation that I'm happy to share with the steem world. Sadly, eight people had passed away in an nearby apartment on that frantic night in Sichuan, China. Hopefully, we'll have some safety guidance on what to do when an earthquake strikes again.

09bb2f9090f20c8c13a45ffb8424137b--peace-fingers-dan-morris.jpg

Sort:  

coming from earthquake country I feel ya. i remember the The 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. I was used to them but that one scared me. I thought it was either the big one or a nuke had gone off somewhere. I was just a few miles from the epicenter. Very sorry to hear about the casualties.

That must be frightening to live near the epicentre too. Do you go through safety drills or is it a case of count your lucky stars

no safety drills accept when we are kids in school. However in my town we have few tall buildings. We are taught to stay inside unless in a building such as yours. Find the safest place such as a door jamb or under a table. A door jamb is best if not near a window. And to keep food, water and batteries and a radio outside like in a closed bin. This is something people do and then stop after a few years passes between a big one such as the one in 89 which killed many people from here in Santa Cruz to San Francisco. They shouldn't though I remember someone offering me 70 dollars for one bag of charcoal. Most major highways were closed so it took some time to get supplies back in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05