You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Debate On The Internet - Common Types of Logical Fallacies

in #life8 years ago (edited)

These are all very good things to watch out for. I've also seen them abused.

For example: Appeal to Authority.
There really are authorities - experts whose opinions are more credible because of their established expertise.

I love it when I'm discussing something with a rank layman in a field who has Opinion A. I point out that Albert Einstein, Erwin Schrödinger, Neils Bohr, and Stephen Hawking all take the opposite Opinion B.

They respond with, "That's an appeal to authority!" Duh. Yeah!

You correctly added the word "irrelevant" authority. Few do.

Sort:  

Yes haha I have encountered these kind of conversations :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41