[Question of the week] Why do we write?

in #life8 years ago

Have you ever wondered what is the motivation behind your writing? I do and this is why this post was born.

So why do we write? Because of money, fame, to express ourselves, to change the world?

With the expansion of the internet and the birth of blogging platforms everyone became a writer. Writing is giving us the power to voice our ideas and thoughts and share them with the world.

I began to write around 8-9 years old, after I learned the alphabet and how to arrange the letters into words. Writing is for me a method of therapy, as I’ve mentioned before, but it is a form of expression as well. Through my stories I express my ideas and I let them take life with the help of my characters. Or sometimes I just put the words into verses and let them rhyme.

I think you should never write solely for the money. Even if money is, sometimes, a motivation in the beginning. I think this because if you write only for the money, you will always put money first and then you’ll put your ideas. You will write only the things that you think will bring you money. Maybe some of your thoughts are great, but will never see the light because they won’t bring you money.

And what you’ll do when the money stops? You’ll quit.

But maybe this is my philosophy towards money. I wrote a piece on my blog about this, where I said that I set the money free. Although important, I don’t want my life to the driven by money as my only motivation.

I write because I like it. I want to inspire people through my writing and drive their imagination wild.

You, why do you write? What’s the motivation behind your words?

Sort:  

Manipulation in the paper gold and silver markets motivate me mostly. lol

I use to write almost everiday since i was young , short stories, a diary, fan fictions , my toughts , poems , i tried to write a book too, nowadays i write less than in the past, im a college student and i write a lot , but only historycal researches or my impression about some paintings and sculptures, i use to post a lot on social media , but it's very different from writing a story on the paper . I think if yoi truly like writing stuff you do it also if you do not earn money for it , some people like me , you and many others just cant stop writing (blog, diaries, books, poems) others do it just as as a job not an inspiration, like many people study medicine just for have a job with an high salary or a better social status, not beacause they truly love what they do, i think is the same for who write , and i also think that if you do it only for money , in the end your "job" is worst than the one made by who do it for a true passion.


Hi @sstefan, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58994.66
ETH 2596.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43