You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gender Stereotyping in Toys

in #life6 years ago

Great article. This is something I have done a lot of thinking about, but not as much research on, so I really appreciate you pulling all this together.

showing children advertisements free of stereotypes expands their acceptance of non-stereotypical roles.

I often hear people say the "well, what's the harm?" line, and I think you hit it right on the head. I was aghast when my oldest daughter started verbalizing her beliefs about what colors and toys are for girls, as young as 4 years old!! My wife and I had been intentional about not giving her that and teaching that all colors and toys are for anyone. But, she picked it up from the culture still.

Buying "across the aisle," so to speak, often results in kids being bullied by other children for playing with the "wrong" toys.

This is a really good point. I remember seeing a parent chastise their son for wanting to play with a baby doll. In a moment of boldness and sarcastic rage, I turned to them and said "yeah, God forbid he grew up and turned into a dad. Am I right?" They weren't too happy, but I think they got the message.

This is an important piece. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63