Unfinished Business 🏠 The Move Must Go On!

in #life7 years ago

serveimage.jpg

First off

Starting up

I would like to welcome @brains back to the platform. We started around the same time, but he is back on the platform and active. This is a man I have known since he was a toddler and I wish him success here on Steemit! I would also like to say thanks to @brains for helping me move for the last couple weeks. Not the easiest thing to do as soon as one arrives in Buenos Aires.

Almost in

I guess I could welcome myself back too. I don't feel right about using my time to post while the clock is ticking toward the end of a rental contract. I just finished getting cleared out of the old apartment, and I really missed posting. The photographs herein are a smattering of the furniture ordered, delivered, and custom built during my move. The couch was too long to go in the elevator or up the stairs so they hauled it up 9 floors with a rope. Just a rope, no pulleys, no block and tackle. (see video).

Moving. 🏠

The last post I made was like six weeks ago? But I had to finish the "Moving Out" part of my move before dedicating time to my blog. Getting moved out has kept me from posting on Steemit. This has been a 'downsizing' move into a smaller place with bigger recreational options. I have been paying rent and bills for both apartments for two months, which gave me time to sort and toss most of what I had pack-ratted into my closets and drawers at the old place. There comes a time when you just have to chuck the things you have not used in years! After filling the dumpster, what was left, got boxed up and moved little by little. Prize possessions moved one trip at a time with a hand truck. The from and to apartments are only four blocks apart, both of them in San Telmo. Still, it has been quite a big job.

pieces

It feels like three full time projects.

  • clearing out the old apartment
  • buying furniture for the new one (and awaiting deliveries)
  • setting up new homes for old decor, cookware, dishes, etc...

It's a bit like having a new hard drive and trying to organize your files this time instead of just moving the whole structure. I have nearly finished the first two items on the list which frees me up to maybe complete a post. With three weeks left on the lease, I am giving the owner a chance to start prepping his apartment for the next tenant.

being built

He is a good friend so I let him know about some of the problems that caused me to move out. I was able to tolerate an older building with peeling paint, but when I found out that the electrical service was outputting only 197 volts instead of 220 to 240, that was the straw that broke the camel's back. Over the course of 2 years, several laptop chargers, and every UPS that I had got fried. The move was necessary.

I have been running my tail off from sunrise to midnight non-stop for these six weeks. I must have thrown away forty percent of the old papers and possessions I had been saving and moving for years. I also tossed all my old furniture except my bed and computer desk. At the same time I have been buying custom made furniture in order to make the best use of space in a smaller but newer place. I chose a dual computer desk and a folding bed for my youngest child, which doubles as a TV stand. Then I divided the kitchen with a huge pantry / cupboard to hold the things I cook with. I had Steemit in mind when I set up the pantry, easy access to spices and ingredients in order to keep the counter and stovetop clear for pictures of some of my creations which will end up here on Steemit.

I am still waiting on a kitchen table, undecided what kind as of yet. Then I need some gaming chairs for the kids. But I am most looking forward to the TV which I have not selected yet either, but it will likely be large (anything but Samsung).

I should have more pictures up when I get my entire life out of boxes.

gaming bench.jpg

Most of you might think that I am absorbent, yellow, and porous as my name would suggest, but my offspring pictured above tells a different story. I look like these guys but a bit older and wiser.

Panorama.jpg

Sort:  

Hello my friend. I and my family also moved a month ago))) You are right that this is not very fun))) We moved to another city, which is 1000 km away))) I wish you and your family much happiness)))))

Great job when the times comes to moving to a new place the going gets tough!!! Wishing you the best of luck.

Thanks for the shout out. Glad to help any time, as you well know ;0

Keep up the good work. I loved your first couple posts. Your camera equipment is way better than mine. I think you are destined for success here.

very good job, surely you enjoy it very much. I really like that stuff. Good luck always. thank kasaih my friend

Buenísimo!!!! felicitaciones por el nuevo lugar!!!! saludos a tus hijos!!! nos vemos!!!

Hey Jon! Si, me tire hasta una situacion mejor or puede ser mejor. Estoy contento. Sigo viendo los blogs tuyos y tenes mis votas.

Thank you for posting @sponge-bob.

Appreciate hearing how the move went.

Cointelegraph is reporting that bitcoin ATMs will installed in a big way in BA....will that change anything for you?

Cheers.

No, not really. there are sites here where you can pay your gas, electric, internet, etc with bitcoin. They will even deliver cash to your door.

I won't mention the company because they charge huge fees that are outrageous.

Welcome back, I hope you enjoy the new place!!

Moving is not that easy. Hope that you managed to arrange the most necessary things for the beginning.

It's like life in a blender - haha. I am getting through it.

That furniture haul up 9 floors is impressive! It will be nice to settle in after 6 weeks of non stop moving and shuffling. Good to have you back!

Being done with one of the apartments allows me to sit once in a while. I get to pay more attention to Steemit. It will be a while yet before I am out of boxes and organized here, but there is no time limit here at the new one.
Thanks for your support and comments.

oh you were so busy in between that but good to know that you are back buddy :)

Great to see you after a very loooooong time @sponge-bob glad to have a new update after that shifting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47