๐Ÿ“š Making a New Internet - Safe Access for Everyone ๐Ÿ“šsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life โ€ข 8 years ago

MaidSafe

This Will Break All The Rules

One of the most necessary projects to be developed especially in today's climate of hacking and insecurity.

The idea is to replace the internet, cloud services, and all local storage with a decentralized network.

  • On one side you have the "Farmers" who donate a portion of their disk space for storage of encrypted chunks. Farmers get paid for their uptime, reliability and quantity of space provided. This is paid in Safecoins (currently trading as maidsafe-coins.)

  • On the other side, users open edit and save files on their computers as usual, except that files are sliced up, each slice off to a different farmer and encrypted on the way when a user saves the document. Websites are also saved on the network in encrypted chunks as well.

The upside is that you can open your documents from any computer and there is no trace you were there when you log off. No browser history because it is not a browser. Another benefit is that websites that get a lot of hits will run faster - not slower. Imagine a DDoS attack causing your web site to be lightning fast!
Imgur

No Blockchain - this is completely new tech!

While following and investing in these coins over the last three-plus years, I have learned that the developers speak of MaidSafe as if it already exists. I can't wait until it does! Believe me, I have been chomping at the bit to start "Farming" these coins for well over three years since I saw them on Keiser Report in early 2014

Here is a recent MaidSafe video describing how it will work.

Some Translations:

  • offers = will offer
  • is / are = will be
  • encrypts = will encrypt
  • retrieves = will retrieve
  • pays miners = will pay miners

You get it. Still, after three solid years I have not given up on the team. I have spent lots of time playing with the safe_launcher and the demo app and they work well. But until things get off of the developers' servers and onto everyday miner machines, I am still wondering if this hack proof replacement for the internet will be realized in time. Fingers Crossed!
Imgur

More info can be found on The Safe Network forum

Remember: You Are The Power Company

steemdb.jpg

Whale

Imgur

Sources: Screen shots or images made by me.

I appreciate your comments, upvote, resteems and following.

I upvote all friendly comments and reciprocate other good will :)

Sort: ย 

Only the name is ridiculous. It's like an acronym from donald duck.

Here's some other acronyms as silly as Maisafe:

  • Alphabetical Code for Remembering Odd Names You Make up
  • A Coded Rendition Of Names Yielding Meaning
  • A Contrived Reduction Of Nouns, Yielding Mnemonics
  • Another Cryptic Rendition Of Nomenclature You Memorize
    source

Good one. Agreed! I just wish they would get it working so I can start Farming the coinage! We need an internet they can't turn off now that we have money they can't turn off. TGFC (thank God for crypto)

Thank you very much for covering MAIDSafe. In my opinion THE project we currently need most. The current internet is broken beyond repair, let's create a GNU one.

//edit: Followed and resteemed.

We really, really need an internet replacement. Although I continue to hope that we are now past the point where any human government could simply "shut it down," it would be great to have a completely peer to peer arrangement, totally distributed.

@mage00000 has been posting about Tesla and appears to have a lot of hands-on experience and a deep knowledge of Tesla's writing. I've discussed this topic with him under some of his articles. I believe based on his work that independent transceiver nodes that propagate right through the planet could be set up at a reasonable cost both in capital expense and in required power. This would make government jamming very difficult.

However, at least with my present understanding, the bandwidth would be very limited. It would be more like a "bulletin board" than an internet.

Thanks for a spectacular article! :) :) :)

๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜‡๐Ÿ˜„

@creatr

Thanks for reading and responding. The more followers I get, the more social this site becomes for me. I have met some fellow steemit users and have become so used to the lack of advertising, that I can hardly stay on a site than has them. Tab closed that fast.

Your blogs have been a very inspiring mix of science and faith for me - Thank You!

Thank you, my friend. I need to "get out" more - I've enjoyed reading more of your articles today because I stumbled across one of your comments. I want to be "more organized" about reading. Not enough time in the day!

I am (impatiently) waiting for the promised hard fork because I plan to better organize my TOC, my "short list" of Steemians that I want to read frequently, and etc.

Anyhow, know that you are appreciated! :) Read some of @mage00000 if you can, and let's talk more about a sustainable new internet, OK? ;)

A competitor maybe, https://steemit.com/vivacoin/@williambanks/introduction-to-viva-part-5-viva-can-you-bet VIVA CAN

I've been thinking on the same lines. so yeah let's have that as a option :)

sounds interesting, this Crypto-coin has been on my radar for quite some time now!

The crypto-coin will be called safecoin - so they say - and it doesn't exist yet.

Interesting that you can store your "MaidSafeCoin" in a bitcoin wallet, but it has to be the only coin sent to that wallet - you will not see the balance in there, but it's there. I didn't like the sound of that so my holdings are stuck on an exchange :(

Will look into this! Sounds Interesting, especially for a long term investment. If you're looking for some short term gains, i would recommend Burst! They primarily used to Gamble! and have assets. Undervalued and there is demand for burst, the price has been quite stable lately. I'm also going to buy Steem any time soon, just waiting for the SEC to finish.

I believe a healthy crypto investment portfolio, should have variety of Coins! Maidsafe could be one!

SIA coin is well worth checking out, since it basically does the storage layer already, and is already in the wild.

Agreed! I got into burst and am also looking at doubling up on Steem soon - talking a 70k buy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42