Disappointing Best Describes U.S. Open 'Finale'

in #life6 years ago (edited)


I have to be honest with you. Some days, the topics on my plate, make it more difficult to get inspired to write. Of course, the one most difficult to write about is resonating the loudest. It is the U.S. Open 2018 meltdown of Serena Williams. Sadly, it continues to make me smh 24 hours later.

The women’s finale of the U.S. Open felt like a train wreck. Thankfully, I missed the entire match; but what I did see disturbed me terribly.

I saw someone staring defeat in the face, not able to maintain the composure and the grace of a mature adult; but, instead mimick the actions of an immature toddler overdue for a nap.

What I saw reminded me of the article on unhinged mothers that I wrote recently. Instantly, I was reminded that she reminded us (on court) that she is the mother of a baby daughter.

She was asked in the post-game interview what she will tell her daughter when she gets old enough to see her behavior. After a few amusing looks, she struck back with, bottom line, not let anyone take advantage of her.

But, that is not what this post is about. This post is not about my thoughts of wondering how she handles matters such as this as a wife and mother. She has a billion-dollar hubby; and, the thought that did cross my mind is, should he ever decide to end the marriage she gives him a huge 'case' for a custody battle. Remember, this was just a thought, in no way inferring their marriage won’t last. In fact, from the pics they seem like a very connected couple.

Again, that’s not what this post is about. This post is about how a person, in a rage, destroying two rackets within minutes of each other, totally drained the exhilarating joy that this event was supposed to evoke.

It reminded me of someone who says, if I’m not going to celebrate, no one is going to celebrate. If my good time is going to be ruined, I’m going to ruin it for everybody.

She received a $25K slap on the pinky for her antics; but, if I was standing on the other side of the court, I’d “want” to sue for $25M, for disturbing my emotional peace with her demonstrative abuses. Want is in quotes because Christians are supposed to forgive, and not sue…moving on…

I’m reminded that this person is a September Virgo. Many will say what does that have to do with anything? @spiritualmatters, I thought you were a Christian. Well, I am indeed a Christian; and, the Bible speaks of the relevance of the stars, so, I will let you DYR.

But as noted, the August-born Virgo, and the September-born Virgo are two totally different personalities. The latter-born has a soft exterior; but, a very short-wicked interior that will blindside you, similarly to persons born under the Taurus and Gemini signs.

I don’t want to go down this path; but, I do want to say, what she will never say; and ironically, exactly what she wanted the referee to say:

I’m sorry.

I’m sorry to 20-year-old Naomi Osaka and all the people of Japan who had to witness the horror.

I’m sorry that this near-menopausal woman; perhaps even peri-menopausal woman couldn’t reel it in enough to see that the person who called her a personal role-model was standing on the other side of the court.

I am sorry that Osaka had to cover her head with towels to Zen-out the negativity she had just experienced.

I am sorry that her tears were prolly more of sorrow than joy; at her fear of showing joyful elation with her family; which had been RUINED by an older-woman who simply couldn’t get past the toddler rant.

Speaking of irony, recently I watched a clip of her dad teaching his future champions how to ignore insults when they were on the court. And, I thought to myself, that maybe he should have spent more time teaching how to contest according to protocol. After all, flying off the handle served no positive results, for sure. It began to seem more like, okay everybody, rally around me, now. And, for a while they did; but, the 'theys' had no power over official protocol...just more disruption adding to the disappointing behavior.

I listened to her ongoing ‘conversation’ with the ref and realized she sounded like a defiant wife badgering her husband; and, wondered how her husband would handle these antics, should this behavior carry over into her personal life.

I end this post with sorrow. I saw something that went further than the McEnroe tantrums of the 70s. I saw a role model, wife, and mother totally lose control, crying on the sidelines like, as I mentioned, the toddler in desperate need of a nap. But realistically, this behavior is what many clinicians would describe as bi-polar tendencies.

This isn’t to bash this tennis player. She is hands down one of the greatest players of all times; and, her much-calmer big sis, as well.

But, this is to say that it is WRONG to ruin another’s good time; because things aren’t going well for you. This person ruined it for me, and prolly thousands of others who had to watch this rme…smh…show.

I guess if there’s a silver lining for Osaka, it is that she won a Grand-Slam; and added $3.5 million to her bottom line.

Hopefully, when she got home she celebrated without fear of retaliation. I have to admit the hugs at the awards ceremony must have felt like someone being loved on, by the same person who had totally beaten every ounce of positivity of the moment out of them. Something tells me that forevermore she will realize that her role-model isn’t found on a tennis court. And, in time, I hope that she will be able to put the negative aside and only joy in the memory of her hard-earned accomplishments.

I have to say Osaka’s graciousness to defer on a question asked, showed how wise she is. I mean really, with all the ‘boos’ and negative reactions of her opponent, she would have started WWIII had she said how awful she felt having her outright win, tarnished by such an uproar.

Last note, Williams’ coach admitted outright that he was sideline coaching. So, smh, who’s telling the truth? At this point, it doesn’t matter. This is one for the record books, and any damage is done; and, as with the rest of the world…life goes on.

Can’t help but feel a need to pray for all involved…smh…truly a sad case and bad example for sportsmanship.

Best regards.

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75