Apartment Shooting Either Costly Mistake or Murder

in #life6 years ago (edited)


As mentioned in my previous post, sometimes the picks on the plate make the energy to write difficult. I don’t like to talk about yesterday, so I will just get right into the next difficult post to blog.

Imagine walking into the wrong apartment. I can truly empathize with those who get a little turned around in those cookie-cutter, all-look-the-same apartments, which the contemporary-builds resemble.

People pay a huge chunk of change to have these garage-accessible apartments. I smh as I recall volunteering to help a friend move out a few years ago. I can’t tell how many times I got turned around, as every floor, every apartment looked identical.

Finally, I had to use identifiable markers to help know which floor I should park, and to know which hall and direction of the apartment I was seeking. I eerily felt like I was in a maze; walking past 50 strange apartment doors on each hallway…really creepy even today, as I reflect.

So, when I heard about the police officer who shot a person, who she believed was in her apartment, I totally got it. Instantly, I was reminded that I am not the first person who got turned around in these maze-like complexes.

Worth repeating; quite honestly, I hated the idea of ‘sharing’ the personal entry door with total strangers. Each floor had about 200 apartments in a maze-like architecture. This scenario serves only to set the stage for what might have happened on this tragic evening.

It is clear, that after working a 15-hour shift, this person was undoubtedly extremely tired, and understandably on edge, on seeing the male in the apartment she thought was her own. Details released, indicate that the police officer, now charged with manslaughter, has a job which involves tracking down felons.

I’m not making a case for or against her; as, this incident is extremely tragic for everyone involved. I worked a double shift one time in my life, and vowed never again. Typically, the body and the mind just wants to shut down and sleep after such, so feeling a bit disoriented and ‘edgy’, I would totally understand.

Regarding the jury, it will be a tough case to secure a beyond-a-reasonable-doubt verdict. The doubt that her intent was purely reactionary; and, an honest mistake, will most likely be in the mental periphery of most jurors.

And yet, even with this perception, because she is an officer, and the victim is a black male, she will more than likely get at least the minimum sentence, perhaps more, depending on how strong a case the prosecution builds against her.

But, no matter the final verdict, there will be lawsuits that will put a significant dent in the city government’s coffers.

Obviously, the family of the victim will sue, and I wouldn’t be surprised if she didn’t sue as well. While most likely her long hours were voluntary; she was filling a need due to a shortage of employees. Of course, this is pure speculation so I won’t belabor.

That said, this was a horrific-freak accident in mho. However, as noted, an innocent life was lost, and responsibility has to yield justice according to selected peers.

So, let’s sum this up with the things, albeit moot, that could have been done to avoid this unfortunate tragedy:

+For starters, and of course, not laying blame; the victim should have locked his door. That’s the only thing that could have potentially prevented this entire interaction.

Beyond that point, sadly, the officer seemingly did everything wrong. I will attribute her fatigue, and take her job background tracking felons into consideration on her pulling the trigger on someone she obviously felt threatened by. However, the following facts remain:

  • There was a red doormat, aka marker, which should have made clear, this was not her home (or something was amiss).

  • Second, the unlocked door was her cue to not enter; and instead, call the officer (security) on the grounds to come over and do a courtesy walk-through of her place. He would have done proper protocol to alert a suspect to come out with hands up, etc.

But more so, obviously, he would have asked for her apartment number, on calling him. The solution would have been resolved instantly upon his arrival to the third floor. He would have asked, "I’m here, where are you?"

Her failure to get backup assistance, which is what anyone should do if they suspect their apartment has been compromised, will be what causes her the biggest cog in her defense.

From the outside looking in, no pun intended, she did everything wrong. Even if she was too tired to wait for help, and chose to enter in, as apparently she did, the first thing would be get some light to see the surroundings. At this point, it should have registered that this was not her furniture; therefore, 99.9% most likely not her place.

So, as I end this post, I hear the tweets being read on a radio podcast, and it seems that some are beginning to believe there was indeed a personal connection between the two. Eh, maybe. Perhaps, by a long shot, he stomped too loudly over her head; and, this was retaliation. Or perhaps, by an even longer shot, she was a scorned lover. (These emotions would have come up during interrogation). Either way, neither would be an excuse. If you don’t like your neighbors, move. That’s one of the perks of renting; not tied in contract beyond a few months, at most. For this reason, I don’t believe either of these guesses. I don’t think this was confrontational, nor that they knew each other…jmho.

It will be interesting to see how this one plays out. But, no matter the what, two things will remain:

  • Lives will forever be changed; and,

  • Civil lawsuits will be in abundance. The officer will sue the city. The family will sue both the city and the officer. And, the government monies to fund the trial will be exorbitant.

Smh, as in an age of 24/7 camera shots on buildings, it is hard to believe that there isn’t tons of footage available, showing the whole kit and caboodle, start to finish.

The red mat at the entry way clearly means she wasn’t on top of her game as an officer; simply because, they are trained to see things the ordinary person doesn’t.

Prayers that the jury is top notch and unbiased; so, as to not 'throw' the case in either direction.

Best regards.

Peace.

Sort:  

Killer. So graceful.

Remember: Innocent until proven guilty. Clearly, not enough evidence to make such a blanket reply...If I hadn't had the maze-experience firsthand, I might not get it; but, I could see getting disoriented. The apartments all look alike; thus, why some people put distinguishing markers.

The more I think about it, the more I'm left smh...seems like poor judgment meets mix-up.

Peace.

So gorgeous and radiant dude

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38