You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Laundry: Definitively the Worst Chore

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It depends. For those blessed to have a w/d in the home, it can be cathartic.

But, few things have made my day sadder, than seeing women with kids in tow, walking a basket full of clothes to the laundry mat. That's a chore.

I guess at the end of the day it's all perspective, and a reminder to always give thanks. I'm sure, even the lady with the grocery basket is grateful to have coins for the machine and clean laundry at the end of the day. After all, it doesn't take much to know that walking laundry a few blocks, beats having to hand wash everything...jmho.

And, for those who've never had to make a trip to the laundry mat, there's a reason to rejoice for the in-home w/d.

I'd be amiss to neglect mention of the ladies in some countries who walk miles to do laundry by hand at the river, daily. Now, that's a chore.

So to loathe doing laundry reminds me of the importance of gratitude to God for blessings.

Peace.

Sort:  

Very true. I think my hatred of the chore started back when I first moved out of my family home with no washer or dryer at a time when I did not own a vehicle and had to first scrounge for quarters that I may or may not have at the time, then walk uphill to the dilapidated laundromat do my laundry.
Thankfully, and I am truly grateful, things are different now, with my own washer and dryer in my house. And perhaps loathe is a strong word, but it is still my lest favorite chore.

loathe is a strong word, but it is still my lest favorite chore.

lol...I totally get it...and giving thanks that things are better for you now.

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51