Recent Hardfork Curbs Loitering & Littering on Platform

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This post is a personal observation of an unexpected upside of the most recent hardfork.

I’m a firm believer in moderation, and of not forming habits that lead to a form of zombie-ism, common with most social-media addicts.

Yes, addicts. If you ever have lunch with someone, and can’t hold a focused eye-contact, thought-involving conversation with the person sitting across from you, because your phone apps have all of your attention, then you just might be a social-media addict. However, that’s totally off topic.

This recent hardfork has forced my moderation belief into effect; and, that’s the good thing, the unforeseen upside.

As someone who’s been on the platform for over a year now, I can attest that checking in, hanging out with fellow Steemians, can get a little bit addictive.

Steemit has long been viewed by some as a being a ‘ponzi-ish’, pay-to-play system; but, this new adjustment serves as a time-regulator for most; while ‘quietening’ get-rich easily' rip-off acts. Of course, that could be temporary due to the current stagnation in the STEEM value; and susceptible to resurfacing should the value begin a consistent surge as in late 2017, early 2018.

The recent controversial hardfork allows one to stay for only as long as there are RBCs in the account.
Zero RBCs, makes it zero sense to hang around, as there is zero opportunity to interact, or grow SP via feedback, etc. It becomes a case of pretty much being on the sidelines, with no skin in the game, unless of course you want to go the ‘out-of-pocket’ investment route.

This hardfork prevents, ahem, loitering at the coffee house without buying a cup of coffee. This serves to prevent a bunch of mindless clutter postings and nonsensical 'vote for me, I'll vote for you' comments.

It reminds me of the public library. There are time limits on how long you can use their computers per day. Of course, they don’t offer a pay option; which reminds me of another upside of the hardfork. Steemit does offer the option to buy some time. As STEEM's value increases, this will be a worthy increment to add to the investing equation, i.e. use a bit of STEEM, to buy a few RBCs, to increase time on the platform beyond just socializing; but intentions to be productive while helping grow the bottom line. One has to remember that this platform's duality is social-media meets an opportunity to invest in long-term financial growth.

Again, this hardfork is a great tool for time management. Also, unlike FB, this platform is not riddled with ads in the margins;and if that’s the price I have to pay for not seeing those look-at-me, no I refuse to, distractions then, I’m good with that!

Of course, for every upside there’s a downside, sorta’. I’m reminded that making corrections on posts cost 'money' (RBCs), too. The plus side of this reminds me to upload posts to my original blog first, as it offers a draft preview. It will help serve for posterity’s sake as well; because even though the blockchain is ‘permanent’, I’ve heard some say that posts are dumped after a year.

That’s a bit disappointing; and, I hope I’m wrong. I'd love to know if there’s still a way to observe all activity from day one.

Best regards.

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82