Let Not the Holidays Be Reason to Wreck Emotional & Financial Budget

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Ah, November…Rme…smh…Tis the season…fa-la-la-la-la…

As shocking it might be for some who follow my blog, I don’t get razzle-dazzle energized by the holiday season.

In fact, I believe the holidays only serve to complicate, an already difficult life for many, especially budgetary reasons.

That’s not to say I don’t enjoy the special days of Giving Thanks for blessings big and small, or the Holy Day rejoicing at the miraculous birth of my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

But, it is to say that these humanly-designed days of celebration, pressure people to create unrealistic expectations. It makes people think they have to wreck their budget to give gifts to others whose birthday it is not…rme…go figure.

I once had a friend who told me that holidays are manmade, primarily for retail purposes. They are designed to keep consumers spending. That was a light-bulb moment for me, which transformed my thoughts on days of ‘celebration.’

January - Christmas clearance and white sales of linens and home decor

February - Valentine’s Day

March/April - Easter

May - Mother’s Day/Memorial Day

June - Father's Day/Flag Day

July - Independence Day

August - Back to School

September - Grandparent’s Day/Labor Day

October -Halloween

November - Thanksgiving

and lets round out the spending with the most budget-wrecker of all:

December - Merry Christmas!!!

Of all the days, Easter is my favorite because it allows me to reflect on the fact that …but for the grace of God; and, the precious Blood of Jesus there goeth I…a sinner whose soul was lost.

That’s it.

Take every day as it comes.

Be true to you.

Don’t bend to the whims of others; for, you just might break.

The holidays serve to remind me that, in far too many cases, people are ‘forced’ into scenarios they really don’t want to be a part of…aka…let’s think a Hallmark movie where all the drama of generations past unfolds…

And btw, tops to A Charlie Brown Christmas, is Jim Carrey as The Grinch being my favorite Christmas movie; not because I'm the least bit grinchy; but because, it serves to remind that people just want to be loved; and sometimes they do unlovely things to get attention.

And, to keep it all in perspective, and for sake of posterity, let’s plug in “It’s a Wonderful Life” to remind us, that in so many ways, it genuinely is.

Best regards.

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91