You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Have The Basic Right To End Our Lives?

in #life8 years ago

While trying not to be disrespectful, I must say that I do not understand the question as posed "Should We Have The Basic Right To End Our Lives?"

You either have the right or you do not. Self ownership would imply that the right in question is preexisting.

"Going through proper channels" need not apply, if it is a right.

However, if you are merely suffering from depression, or change in life situation, and others depend upon you, then it might be selfish or even negligent. But you still have the right.

Every situation is different, but to ask permission from any authority is very dangerous. They may use the pretense for more nefarious reasons.

You have rights because you are alive. That is a gift which should not be wasted.

Just my opinion.

Sort:  

I agree that if it is a right you shouldnt need to go through proper channels, however in this one case I think that doing so and dealing with the time delay of bureaucracy is a good idea because it dissuades people who are momentarily suicidal. Like you said that might not be defined as a right though.

I don't need any so called "authority" to define my rights. I know what they are, and I can not see how some bureaucracy is going to dissuade someone who is momentarily suicidal, but intent on doing so.

If I want to kill myself, I will do it. I need not ask for permission. How many ways can you think that could be accomplished, without someone else's permission? I could easily put a bullet in my head, but that would be selfish, because someone is going to have to clean up the mess.

I understand that there are cases of imminent and painful death that some may wish to avoid. But that is a personal choice.

My point is; Government should have no say in these personal matters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43