Starting My Year with Prayer and Fasting: A Practical Guide to Fasting

in #life6 years ago (edited)

image.png

I ended my new year with a blast, resorting to parties and drinking, that I tend to forget my daily devotion and Bible reading. Yes, I was full with food and physical excitation at those times, but my Spirit is becoming hungry, and I keep on neglecting it.

During the first Sunday service of the year which happened on January 6, 2018, the Pastor had an announcement about the 5-day Prayer & Fasting. I was not interested about it, but when the service ended, I approached a friend who's going to buy the Prayer & Fasting material, and I joked about him giving me an extra copy, but he did not hesitate and bought me a material. So I thought, there's no backing out now.

When I arrived home, I directly went into the material and checked it:

Fasting

Every Nation Booklet

A Practical Guide To Fasting

Why Fast?

Fasting is a spiritual tool God uses to advance His kingdom, change the destination of nations, spark revival, and bring victory in people's lives. Our church begins each new year with five days of prayer and fasting to humble ourselves before God, consecrate ourselves to Him for the upcoming year, and corporately agree for breakthroughs.

Jesus fasted.

Then Jesus was ked up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil. And after fasting for forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. Matthew 4:12

And Jesus returned in the power of the Spirit to Galilee, and report about him went out through all the surrounding country. Luke 4:14

Jesus knew He was going to need spiritual strength to fulfill His purposes. Fasting makes us spiritually strong and prepares us to do God's work.

Fasting is an act of humility and consecration.

Then I proclaimed a fast there, at the river Ahava, that we might humble ourselves before our God, to seek from him a safe journey for ourselves, our children, and all our goods. Ezra 8:21

As we humble ourselves through prayer and fasting, we receive God's grace and have access to Hid heart.

Fasting helps us become sensitive to the Holy Spirit.

While they wee worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, "Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them." Acts 13:2

When we deny ourselves of natural cravings and worldly distractions, we become more sensitive to God's voice. Then, we are better able to focus on God and submit to His will.

Fasting brings revival.

". . . if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land." 2 Chronicles 7:14

Throughout history, God has brought revival and delivered nations from destruction in response to prayer and fasting. Fasting helps us prevail in prayer and intercession.

Fasting is healthy.

Fasting cleanses your digestive system from toxins. Doctors consider fasting a cure for certain allergies and diseases. As we learn to exercise discipline, fasting breaks unhealthy addictions in our lives.

Planning your Fast

Then Joshua said to the people, "Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the Lord will do wonders among you. Joshua 3:5

Pray-Spend time reading the Bible before the fast. Ask the Holy Spirit for guidance in your prayers. Write down your faith goals and specific prayer requests for your family, friends, church, and nation.

Commit-Pray about the kind of fast you will undertake and commit to it ahead of time. Record your plan. Ask God for grace to help you follow through with your decision.

Act-Start eating smaller portions a few days before the fast. Avoid food high in sugar and fat. Plan to limit physical and social activities for the week of the fast. Ask someone to be your prayer partner throughout the fast.

NOTE: Consult a physician, especially if you are pregnant, nursing, or taking medication. If you situation does not allow you to do a full fast, determine what will work best for you.

I actually chose Liquid Fasting for 5 days, and 4 nights. Where I can only consume Liquid food, such as: shake, tea, soup, broth and many more.

While Fasting

But [Jesus] answered, "It is written, 'Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.'" Matthew 4:4

Focus-Set aside time to work through the devotional. Be ready to respond to God's Word and leading the Holy Spirit.

Pray-Join at least one prayer meeting in your local church. Intercede for your family, church, pastors, nation, campuses, and missions throughout the week.

Replenish-During mealtimes, read Bible and pray instead. Drink plenty of water and rest as much as you can. Be ready for temporary bouts of physical weakness and mental annoyances like impatience and irritability.

For my focus, my devotion all through out the week was Ephesians whole booke, Genesis from 1 to 35, and James whole book.
I prayed for all those who have requests, and including my family, church, and nation.
I drink chocolate base beverages, and read my bible every morning and night.
During my time of fasting, I really get envious of the food they eat, but I am proud that God sustained me all throughout, even when I am hungry, I'll just cry to him to make my stomach full. And for the whole duration of my fast, I did not feel any physical weaknesses.

Breaking the Fast.

And this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us. And if we know that he hears us in whatever we ask, we know that we have the requests that we have asked of Him 1 John 5:14, 15

Eat-Reintroduce solid food gradually. Your body will need time to adjust to a normal diet. Start with fruits, juices, and salad, then add more vegetables, Eat small portions throughout the day.

Pray-Don't stop praying! Trust God's faithfulness and timing. Carry your newfound passion for GOd throughout the year. Be in faith for God to answer your prayers.

I ended my fast out of town, and was doing a lot of things. I asked God if he will let me break the fast and I opened the Bible, and he gave me an account on Genesis about Isaac giving Esau instructions to hunt and provide him his favorite dish, and that he will give blessing to his first born son after that.

After reading the account, I suddenly felt hungry and bought food directly. At 6:30 pm I joined the local church's Prayer Meeting and gave us Lugaw to break the fast.

All throughout my fasting experience, I have learned how to deny worldly things, and knew that to be able to hear God, you really need to have sacrifices and Consecration is one of it.

★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★

VOTE & SUPPORT @surpassinggoogle
By typing @steemgigs as your witness, just click -> https://steemit.com/~witnesses

★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★✩★

"Remember to speak life to bring out potential."
~speaklife

image.png

Sort:  

WOW such a nice book yes that true pray and fasting is the best way to intimate with our God.Im also doing fasting every sunday because that is my commitment to God and together with the praise team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17