Sunday night preparation for Monday morning

in #life5 years ago

I just bought two more SBI, putting me at 10 of the 50 I intend to purchase.

I've spent the better part of the last hour remastering the content I'm teaching tomorrow. (I wrote the notes in 2011.) It is the end of the semester so I've decided to lecture on topics that I think are cool. I'm going to derive the Planck distribution using the classical Boltzmann distribution and the geometric series. Next I'm going to use the Planck distribution to determine the heat capacity due to phonons. However, since the heat capacity requires knowledge of the phonon density of states I'm going to then show how one applies Debye approximations to derive the low temperature T^3 power law. Lastly, I'm going to show how the Einstein approximation is used to approximate the heat capacity of solids at temperature. I think that all this is going to take around two lectures.

Unfortunately, I still have grading to make up from my recent dip in productivity so tonight I'm going to need to grade two previously given, but not graded, quizzes.

I wish I had done more yesterday, but Saturday I was basically wiped out from the divorce negotiations I had Friday. All around it was pretty brutal -- I was a little blindsided since I thought my soon-to-be-ex-wife and I were going to negotiate in good will. Instead I found that she wouldn't be happy without a financial settlement that left me wrecked. Glancing over the details, I'll simply state that it remains true, "No good deed goes unpunished."

Sort:  

Ah, my utter commiserations. There's no advice I can give other than "please try to find a good divorce lawyer". If that bit can even be considered advice.

It can be hard to carry on in such a depressive atmosphere, but the best thing that can give a mind some rest is planning -- plan for everything meticulously and in written form,try to plan for the very worst situations first. Again, seems like common sense advice to some, but if you're not used to doing this for non-work related activities it could be surprising how much this actually helps.

Hi spbeckman ! You just received an upvote from @share2steem !

To our deep regret, it looks like you signed up on Share2Steem BETA but never linked an account.
A lot of changes have been made to the application @share2steem and to the website https://share2steem.com since your last visit.

We want to add more value to you thanks to our constantly growing users base (1130 currently).
There are 3 high value updates on the Share2Steem dApp that you definitely cannot miss ! They will definitely aid you directly and indirectly :

  1. Daily upvote from Share2Steem account (23238 SP now and growing with an upvote worth up to $168622396.20). Once you have linked and verified a social media account, just do as per normal on your favourite social media (ie Instagram) and behind the scene, you EARN.
  2. Activate your Curation Trails in the Settings now, especially the underrated Pool ! You may get up to 10x upvote of what you give to the pool !
  3. Referral Program : probably one of the first that offers such a high referral rate - 4% of all your referrals' earnings !


    Whether you come back or not, we would love to have your feedback :
    Why haven't you used Share2Steem after signing up ?
    Were the explanations about linking a social network account not clear ?
    Maybe you're not interested in the application ?
    Or maybe you don't have any social media account except Steem ?

If you have any questions, suggestions, feel free to come to Discord

This message was generated automatically.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27