the awesome adventures of the little Spaingaroo, when he was just a joey.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A golden child is remembered fondly by the mother.

"you were a wonderful child"

she said to me one day a while back.

I pressed her on it recently, in one of our skype calls.
(well I use Skype to call her phone. She answers there)

"a little hard to potty train, but otherwise a pretty good child"

I felt like I was losing ground pretty rapidly. I thought about bailing out before she really started think too hard about it.

"until you went to university"

Yes, it was time to be out of this one.

Soto2_ForTheLoveOf_D2H2.jpg

'Cause I remember setting fires and pelting cars with berries. I mean to say, If you have a hard berry tree at the top of a cliff with a street below, what else could one do. Can't fight human nature

https://goo.gl/maps/w9yixEBnUvw

still there too, but funny how much smaller that cliff looks to these eyes forty years later.

(I'm glad the go-cart hill still looks like it has some slope.

https://goo.gl/maps/zS6RHhHp4EH2

Seemed like alpe d'huez to me back then.)

I was always up in trees, often getting myself further up than I was really game, and really having to dig deep into my reserves of terror tolerance to get back to terra firma.

I remember making bolt bombs, from nuts and bolts and match heads. I would be arrested for terrorism these days!

I dropped a particularly large example from a huge tree (going to have to see if it is still huge; it is, or they are, still big enough. https://goo.gl/maps/pRsX1SATzf92)

The bolt fell true, didn't lean off the vertical at all and when it struck the concrete pad below exploded with a very satisfying boom, even as the upper bolt came arcing back past my relatively surprised face, missing me by less than it's own length.

:horror:

One of the tens (hundreds?, tens of hundreds?) times that I was let off with a warning by my guardian angel, even though I was too stupid to deserve it really.

Something has been looking after me, 'cause here I am with all my fingers and toes.

I am one of the smartest people I have ever met.

I am also one of the dumbest fucks to ever walk the surface of this planet.

It depends on how you are defining intelligence.

I got the top marks in most every class, from the start of my Australian State School education, to the end.

And that was with moving every couple of years. I went to five schools and it was only so few because I did all my high school years at the one place.

But I am getting ahead of myself.

We were joining the happy family at the birth of yours truly, the actual moment the universe began.

The fateful moment takes place at the Mt Isa base hospital, late in the morning of a fine day in March of the year of their lord 1966.

Don't know fuck all about it actually.
Though I can surmise that it must have gone off well.
I seem to recall that some story is told, but I can't place it right now.

I did die before I was one

which may come as a surprise to the reader.

That story is as follows, and although I hardly ever think about it, and certainly have no direct memory of it, it surely sets the scene for the rest of my adventure here.

My esteemed father was the designated care giver. I have no idea why?
I'll have to ask, but last time I tried to talk with him about this story, I got a bit of resistance, so who knows.

But for whatever reason he was in charge of the infant who was surely destined for greatness, or at least to be here writing this on Steemit in 2017.
He had to pick a friend (or someone standing in for a friend) up from the airport.
When he went into the terminal he left our tiny hero in the car.

I don't even know what kind of car it was.
It may have been the Volkswagen beetle that I knew later, or it may have been an earlier one.
I think it is safe to ignore this aspect of the story.
The upshot is, this is Mt Isa in outback Queensland, and even back in 66 shit happens.

I have always had the story in my head that Neil and the friend stopped to have a quick beer before heading back to the car.
I don't know if this is the true reason or it was more mundane, but whatever the reason, they took their time.
When they got back to the car they found my tiny body in advanced state of heat exhaustion with cardiac arrest.

Don't leave your dogs in the car people.
Don't leave your infant children either.

As luck would have it, the Royal Flying Doctor Service was there. Now retelling this I realise that I always had the story in my head as them flying me to the hospital. That can't be correct. from the airport? where would they land?

They must have just been on hand and could take care of the resuscitation efforts while I was rushed to the hospital in a land based conveyance. Read Car.

plainpaisley_dys_-163_tight_resize.jpg

They must have been successful, 'cause next thing I know, here I am.

After they got my core temperature back down into the range compatible with life, I suppose the recriminations began.
Something went wrong, and I reckon it must have been this.

I think my father never really forgave himself and probably my mother didn't find it easy either. If my young father was like I was at that age, she was probably getting burned pretty well already.

Earth is forgiveness school, but it ain't easy being green. just ask Kermit.

Have I forgiven him? now there's a question.

Thanks anyone who has read this far. If you would like me to keep going with this serialisation, please let me know.

big hugs

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit !! Followed. Follow me back 😘

even though I don't usually like that sort of comment, you look pretty awesome, and we have a lot of interests in common it would seem.
(I mean your interests a etc. not your physical looks of course.) (although you look cute too, but that isn't what I meant)
So I have followed you.
Hope we have a great time here together.

I have run out of time right now, as special afternoon houndbeast walk day, but later will read some of your posts.

but be aware you sound a bit spammy with a comment like that.

I would always consider following anybody who makes the time to comment on one of my posts, but don't want to be seen to be encouraging this follow me follow you sort of thing.

so maybe you'll want to keep that in mind.

(there's heaps of chatter about it where I hang out)

don't take it personally, unless you are just spamming me, in which case, I don't really mind anyway, but like real people more.

big hugs

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by spaingaroo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Ah, another traveler washed in the darkness. Welcome to the Fold, traveler, come recount your stories with the Elders. We shall hold a candle to the darkness in your heart.

Earth is a forgiveness school.

hey, sorry mate.
I never saw this comment until now.

I have no time to write a reply now either, but just so's you know I finally saw this. See you later tonight in Discord perhaps

big hugs @hypexals-spiral

That was dark but yet interesting. Welcome to the Steemit universe. Stay positive and humble my friend.

hey, I'm sorry I only just registered this comment. I am out of time right now too. I'll come back later to say thanks more effusively.

:)

big hugs

Welcome @Spaingaroo!! hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Thanks @khunfarang. I am going to check you out.

Congratulations @spaingaroo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

well written, and that skull illustration is fantastic, didn't notice the little "f*ck" and "hearts" at the bottom of the lines for a while! those little things keep it interesting... kinda reminds me of an album cover for "sea of tombs" except rendered a lot better. keep it up, excited to see more!

thanks @shae-meyer for that lovely comment.
The skull painting is half a dyptic, but right now I am out of time. Tonight when I come back I'll tell you more

thanks again
big hugs

Can't wait to hear more! Sorry for the delay, I have been out of town!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64