You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In a world where there are developments of robots created for sex...

in #life8 years ago

OK. Good work on the article. I completely disagree with the UBI helplessness theory because humans are creative and like to be productive. It's not like criminals are sitting are doing nothing. People WANT to stay productive. I'd like to see the date on how the theory "keeps failing."

I am HUGE fan of Steven Pinker. I have books all over the place but it's a Pinker book on my coffee table and I saw in in a dialogue with Robert Wright last fall here in NYC . Can you tell me the connection between his comments and UBI? I didn't get one. Maybe there isn't one and it's just about the fear of AI?

Sort:  

Thanks for the discussion. I didn’t have a link between UBI and Pinker, just read the article the same day as the others. It was just about the AI.

I didn’t read the entirety of the article about the theory that "keeps failing", but think the idea was that the displacement of workforce is always in transition as technology advances. We never get to a point where all task are accomplished through automation. I agree with you that people want to be productive and believe they will continue to be so regardless of how much or what gets automated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52