Pilgrimage with sophie: The Barquisimeto Museum

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi, everyone!

Yes, I'm back. I had made a return to the platform with a post about me and everything else, and then ... Zas! The university knocked on the door. But it wasn’t bad or sad! I had to go to a Latin American congress of anthropology in Lara’s state, Barquisimeto. I tell all of you that it has been one of the best experiences I've had.

Since then I was traveling for a month and a half. ONE MONTH AND A HALF! Well, now, no drama. So, I will bring you step by step pictures that I have taken, experiences and wonderful places that I have known knotted to people full of magic.


Why pilgrimage?

The first time I read the term "globetrotter" was during a Zelda game for nintendo DS. If you ask me right now, when the time has passed and left its mark, I will answer without any doubt that I do not know the exact moment of the game where it appears or why; and yes, Google is there to illuminate my life, but I enjoy wandering in my memories. One of the things I do remember is that the term was knotted to a man who traveled all over the world, knowing magical places, special people (and not so much) and discovering fantastic objects. At that time I knew I wanted to be like that man: a globetrotter.

“Sophie talks a lot, my God”. The point is that globetrotting with Sophie sounds very bad. Globetrotting Sophie? It doesn't engage, really. Maybe in a few days... or months, I changed it. But at times I decided to go on "pilgrimage with sophie" Why? The pilgrim looks for sacred places, travels through unknown places, and I believe that each destination is sacred and has its light, its history. Besides, it's the first time that I've ventured into this of traveling alone. And without more than saying, I begin with the first place.


The Barquisimeto Museum

Photo shared by Luis Fontalvo and edited by me.

This is the front of "The Barquisimeto museum", one of the oldest buildings in the state. It is located in the central town of Barquisimeto, and it was not always a museum. I was not alone; we were given a tour of the entire center historic explaining the origin and why of different buildings and monuments.

The Barquisimeto Museum, to tell a little of its history, was a hospital until 1977, when it was thought of demolishing the building; but thanks to a series of protests that were led by Don Raúl Azparren, the building was saved and inaugurated in 1982 as "The Barquisimeto Museum".


Photo inside the museum taken and edited by me.


The girl who gave us the tour told us that the building has had a history since 1579 and was called "Hospital San Lázaroz", and in 1877 it became "Hospital de La Caridad". The patients were cared in the building by nuns and volunteers. She also told us that during one of the most important plagues that ocurred the hospital was filled with people, hundreds of them died in it, that is why the people believed that this place has a certain heavy essence.

Photo inside the museum taken and edited by me where you can see the entrances of the rooms.


In 1922 the chapel of San Miguel was built inside it, where I had the pleasure of witnessing a cultural presentation, since at the present time it is used for dances and presentations of different entities.</div<>

Photo of the chapel taken by @cathyhaack and edited by me


Photo taken next to the chapel where you can see the backyard and one of the entrances to it. Taken and edited by me.

Unfortunately, the day we were given the tour, time exceeded us and they could not take us on a tour with a talk inside the building, because it closes at 5 pm. However, that did not stop us from trying to approach the next day to observe the installation.


You want to see the installations? Well, let's go to it!


This is a tree right next to the chapel, it looks beautiful and big, so I couldn't avoid taking a picture of it and editing it later.


Here you can see another photo of the museum inside, taken and edited by me.


Here you can see another photo of the museum inside, its walls are decorated with works by Venezuelan artists. Photo edited and taken by me.

It should be noted that these photos are all taken and edited by me. I don't know the authors of the works, if anyone knows them, comment on their name or user from social networks.

This is a very close photo of some works, this one caught my attention.


This one is right next to the previous work.


These are made of wood.


I liked this one a lot, it's on another wall in the museum.


This one caught my attention quite a bit, they were rocks, and the marks didn't cover them.


And this is one of my favorites, congratulations to the artist.


That's what the doors of each room look like.


When you enter through these precious arches, you come out to the back of the museum.


When you go out, you turn around and you come to see this mural. It's one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen.


And this is a backlight of the grilles that are right in that stretch where the mural is, on the sides.


"
If you go straight on, you will find this descent, which are not stairs as such, and take you to more lower rooms of the museum.


This is a beautiful painting that is right on the wall in front of the descent ramp.


This room is just downstairs, it's the biggest downstairs. All the others are simple brown doors, which they seem to use for talks or classes.


And finally, the quilombo, which is the museum's restaurant. Unfortunately, they do not have a point of sale, so we don't enter the place or taste the sweets and coffees.


And that was basically the whole tour, first guided, then ran on my own. Barquisimeto is a city full of magic, color, warmth and friendly people. In Barquisimeto you can find culture, cool music, a good beer or a good cake. I fell in love.

And the museum? The museum is wonderful. The art and the essence that the building has is incomparable, like no other. It's a place that no one can miss if they want to enjoy a wonderful atmosphere. I think I'll make one or two more posts about the artworks presented there, I still can't decide. The museum is full of souls, light, color and art, a lot of art from brilliant minds.

And that was basically all for today. Don't forget that Sophie loves you. A mega hug and kiss for everyone. Don't forget to say what you thought, your comments are the most important thing for me, I love talking with all of you.

Sort:  

Very interesting museum... welcome back

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Sophiegeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33