Six Reasons Why Everyone Should Have A Dog

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Six months ago, I found myself having no other option than to invite a new roommate into my home. This new roommate, which I was now to spend a significant portion of my life with, was a two month old Cane Corso(Italian mastiff).

He could have found a home elsewhere, but I could not have known for sure whether that home would have provided him with a good life. I did know that I could do that for him, so rather than worry whether he was being adequately looked after for the next 15 years, I decided to take him in.

Before that day when my home became his, I had little responsibility-- which was exactly how I liked it. Vito did not come alone, however. He brought with him the mass of responsibility that I had been--until then--actively avoiding.

No longer could I do what I want, whenever I please. I now had another living creature who depended on me for their happiness, their health and their overall well-being.

Through that sacrifice I have come to learn a great deal. Whilst I am teaching him how to sit, stand and roll over, he is teaching me how to be more patient, more compassionate and more considerate.

Thanks to Vito, the last six months have made me a better person in a number of ways, and so I wanted to share my top six reasons why everyone should have a dog.





  • Health

Having a dog will force you to incorporate a lot more exercise into your daily routine. Whether it be through walking, running or playing tug-of-war, your dog is likely to get you burning some calories--especially if you end up with an energetic breed. This will keep you in good shape and improve your overall health.

  • Laughter

Imagine leaving the room for a few moments and returning to see this;

Having seen that mouse being used many times before, Mhysa--my other roommate's dog--thought she would give it a go herself. This was a hilarious moment, but it is merely one of a thousand that both Mhysa and Vito have gifted to me. If you have a dog, there is no doubt that they too will supply you with more laughs than you can fathom, perhaps at a moment when you need it the most.

  • Cuteness

Cute is a word that I very rarely use, but there is no other word to describe some of the moments that your puppy is bound to deliver to you.

Be it puppies cuddling each other, falling asleep on your leg, or enthusiastically demonstrating every trick they know, desperately trying to earn the treat they think is in your pocket-- even though it's just your hand, there are again thousands of cute moments that will bring a smile to the face of even the grumpiest of humans.

  • Companionship

Life can be lonely or boring at times. With a dog in your life, these times can become much rarer. You will never be alone as long as they're with you, and the wag of their tail every time you return into the room, or every morning when you awake, will demonstrate to you how much they appreciate your company. This can be a wonderful thing to behold.

  • Patience

Now all the previously stated points have spoke only of the great side of having a dog, but I do not want to mislead anyone into thinking that it is an easy task. Training a puppy can be exhaustive work. From peeing in the house, to chewing your favourite shoes and a million other things, there are going to be a lot of bad habits you will have to endure during those early stages of getting your dog trained. Through the realisation that any mistakes they continue to make are your fault, and not theirs, one can learn a great deal of patience, which will come in very useful when applied to other aspects of life.

  • Duty

If none of the aforementioned points were enough to convince you, then consider the following;

There are far too many dogs out there that are in desperate need of a home. We define the word humanity as being kind, compassionate and benevolent in nature. I believe that it is our duty to live up to this definition, and there is nothing kind, nor benevolent about allowing millions of animals to be killed if we had the means to give them a life worthy of living.

I ask you to consider this, as well as all that you can gain through caring for a dog, and think about whether you are in a position to add a new member to your family.





Secret Bounty



If you made it this far, I want to invite you to win a secret bounty. Some comments I have been receiving recently have revealed to me that not everyone bothers to read the entire post, and I would like to start rewarding those who do, because your attention is greatly valued. These are just my top reasons for getting yourself a dog, but I know that there are plenty other reasons out there. If you want an opportunity to win 50 STEEM, you must do only two things.

  • Resteem this post so that others might get a chance to participate.

  • Share in the comments your top reason why someone should own a dog.

Tomorrow, I will check through the comments and whichever I consider to be my favourite reason, I will transfer 50 STEEM to the author of the comment. I may also ask for input from @thetruthfairy if I happen to see her before then. Good luck!



Header image is royalty free, sourced from pixabay.com. All other images are my own.

Sort:  

Gorgeous furbabies, I have 2 if I had a house and garden big enough I would have a lot more. I did read it all the way loved the post and the pics, I don't reseteem at the minute as I get lost with my posts but good luck to whoever wins :)

Thanks for your post and I too have experienced that amazing gifts of having a dog...yes we can't hide in our isolation, but our dogs teach us so much about loving life, about true commitment, about reciprocated love, and make life so much more beautiful!

Wonderful article! I agree that dogs make us better humans. Here's a piece I wrote about one of my best friends: https://steemit.com/story/@ericvancewalton/amstel-a-birthday-tribute-to-a-great-friend

Unable to comment on there because of the date of the post, but it is a very touching story and well written.

Amstel’s favorite pastimes are long walks in the woods, running in short bursts, getting compliments from random strangers, sniffing stinky stuff, making people laugh, and begging for whatever we’re eating.

This is my favourite part. Lol. It sounds exactly like Vito.

Thanks, I really liked your post as well! They make life so much richer, don't they?

Most definitely. Thanks again for the comment.

Thanks, I need to take Vito out very quickly, but I shall read it once I have returned.

A dog can keep you alive

One reason to have a dog is to keep you alive during tough times. This sounds far-fetched, but I can tell you a true story of how having a dog kept a friend of mine alive ( very, very short version of the story).

Several years ago my friend's only child was murdered. My friend had no family for moral support. His father died when he was young and his only sibling estranged himself from the family years ago; his mother was in a nursing home. He had no serious girlfriend at the time. It was no wonder he became depressed.

However, he has a dog whom he dearly loves. As we are close friends, my friend had confessed to me he had considered suicide; but because of his beloved dog, he refrained. I'm happy to announce my friend is alive and well, and in counseling – because of his dog (who is also alive and well).

On behalf of Vito's everywhere...THANK YOU! I took Bruno from a bunch of drunks that spent 6 years abusing and torturing him. He makes me glad every day! Upvoted & resteemed!!!

I'm not quick to anger, but that's the kinda shit that can set me off quickly.
Glad you took him in. It's a more difficult task when there has been prolonged abuse involved, and so I have a lot of respect for you for taking up the challenge. Top man.

Thanks! He amazes me every day...He's the gentlest creature I've ever seen. He's wonderful with my grandkids. If somebody had treated me the way he was treated, I'd be the meanest thing on four legs. He's taught me a lot!

I do not currently have a dog. My friend Good Dog Carl died of bone cancer at age 12 about 4 years ago. I am considering taking on another dog, for all the reasons you list, plus one.

Service to another

Studies show, and common sense supports the idea, that having a pet extends your life if for no other reason than that you have to be there to take care of them. Service to another, especially the helpless (which pets are in our civilization), automatically extends your life. At my age, such extensions become a larger focus.

I live in a retirement community for people with limited funds and family resources, and it's easy to see those who are just here to die and those who are here to live. The people who are here to live usually have pets, but certainly get out, do things, visit with each other, and engage with the world. A dog brings all that and includes the most beneficial reward, service to another.

I am sorry to hear that. I know it is difficult to lose a dog, as our family pet Liebe( a doberman) died of a twisted gut in the night and it was a very shitty time for the family.

I agree with your reason, it's a very good one. It also applies to so much more than just dogs, pets or animals. Human connection is also a powerful force in extending one's lifespan.

Thank you, and thanks for the bump in my steem!

I have a particular weakness for large dogs! You're right, sometimes cute is the only word for them...these are my cuties:Nanna the Great Pyrenese and Lucy the Pitbull, both abandoned, Nan when she was full grown, Lucy as a pup.

Too common is the story of abandoned dogs. Good on you for taking them in.

That's our rule with animals..we don't find them, they find us ;)

But what if you're allergic to dogs? :D

We have dogs and all your reasons are happy side effects :) We had bigger dogs originally partly because they're excellent deterrants (both for people wandering into your yard and any unsavoury characters thinking about giving you a hard time when you just want to freaking walk down the street in peace) and mostly because we just like dogs. We also have cats and guinea pigs and I have plans to get another dog and ferrets (but sadly no more cats unless we move out to acreage).

Another advantage to dogs is that they're easiest to travel with around here as you can take them camping (as long as you don't go in national parks with them) and some places you can stay are dog-friendly. There's also a few places with alfresco dining that will allow dogs on the outside and put out bowls of water for them, and if you have a friendly one it's a nice way to meet people in the area when you go to the local park and let the dogs play XD

ps - cute puppindawgs! (this got lost when I was originally writing aaargh XD)

also here are my two on one of our day trips :)

puppindawgs

I think that would be one of the most unluckiest things in the world, to have dog allergies.

I actually don't have a garden or any land. I live in apartments, but there is a lot of large parks and rivers nearby where I can take the dog and let him off to run around. He always ends up needing a bath every day though. He certainly loves getting filthy..

I can't see the dog on the right very well, but the one on the left is very cute. I can imagine a lot of people stop you when passing by wanting to pet him/her.

I agree! I can cope with the food allergy I have, but I would be so depressed if I was allergic to any other animal (I do actually have a mild bee allergy but they don't usually sting me so it's not usually a problem).

The one on the right is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. He's got this adorable bug-eyed look about him and can do puppy eyes perfectly when he thinks you have food XD

The one on the left is a mastiff X ridgey X staffy (we only found out about the ridgey when he was fully grown and he was at the fence barking at an obviously dangerous little old lady meandering down the other side of the road and the ridge came up). He is also adorable and derpy and lovable but only dog lovers want to come pat him, everyone else is terrified of his size and he's not as big as dogs can get :)

I originally didn't think that anything larger than a small dog and apartments could work well. Then my cousin (who lives in an apartment) got herself a rather large husky (or maybe it was a malemute or a cross, I forget), and she made it work, and I learned something new XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04