You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are you addicted to?

in #life6 years ago

Here's another definition of addiction, from Ken Keys Jr. You can read more in "The Handbook to Higher Consciousness."

Keys tells us that we are addicted to something if we have a negative emotional reaction if we cannot have it. For example, I am addicted to my friends being on time if I become angry when they are late. I am addicted to my job if I fear losing it. I am addicted to eating healthy food if I have an anxiety attack when I cannot find what I consider "healthy."

I like this definition very, very much.

The way to undo addictions, according to Keys, is to uplevel them to preferences. I can recognize my desire to eat healthy food, but if I simply prefer it, without having a negative reaction when I am eating at my unhealthy relative's house, I will have saved myself a lot of pain.

I can also be addicted to "not doing" things. For example, if I become really stressed out and angry when I have to pay my taxes, I am addicted to not paying taxes, even if I pay them every time. It is our emotional responses, our "emotion backed demands" for things that indicates addiction.

This works with all emotions, and all things. Its a really great thought to keep in mind! See if it helps you too.

Sort:  

Yes, even keeping to a healthy diet can be an addiction if it intereferes with your normal life... If you can control it effectively, than it's ok. Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60796.54
ETH 3365.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50