The Hamburger Dom

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Hamburger Dom is a very popular funfair which takes place three times a year. 


Fortunately the weather was nice today. Much sunshine and 27 degrees. Since I drove to Hamburg today to take care of some things I´ve been working on for a few weeks, @agent and me met up for a walk through the funfair called Hamburger Dom. It was so packed although it was Monday but we quickly noticed that all the students have summer holidays right know and enjoy free time with their friends & families. 


The Hamburg DOM has its historical origins in the 11th century. Traders and craftsmen, as well as jugglers and quackers, sought shelter from wind and weather in the then Hamburg Marien-Dom.
The Archbishop, Burchard of Bremen, disturbed this, and so he gave the banishment to the fairmen in 1334. This, however, the churchmen resent him. Archbishop Burchard even allowed the presence of the traders in the DOM in 1337, but only in "Hamburger Schietwetter"
And so the market remained in the cathedral until the building was demolished in 1804. Afterwards the traders and fairgroundmen moved through the Hamburg districts - without fixed location. 


The Hamburger Dom has (I believe) three entries which all look the same way

Anyway, I am obsessed with this beautiful colors. Unfortunately no natural lights but I still enjoyed it!


The "Sky Dance" is one of @agents biggest favorite rides and she always told me about this special one on the funfair. I also managed to capture some scenes from above even if it was windy and cold there.


Of course we ate a lot of good food and it tasted so delicious. I will tell Mr.Gourmet about it, maybe he will visit this year´s "Summer Dom" and take you through a little gourmet journey. I can promise you guys, it´s worth it! *Yummy*

Anyway, I captured some crazy lights and created some gif´s to introduce to you to Hamburg´s traditional funfair!


I have had a nightmare about ferris wheels when I was younger (maybe 10 years ago), that´s why I´d like to stay out of the big wheel but seeing this one from below was such an incredible view.


Lights everywhere... I was wondering how much electricity they may consume....


We did not make it in time to try out different attractions. There was a freaky stand with lots of mirrors and 3D glasses. I believe most of you guys know what I am talking about.... But thats no problem, I found a crazy filter online. But still, no color correcting, no photoshop. Just simple pictures cut into many other halves.


Quote of the day

If you expect the world to be fair with you because you are fair, your fooling yourself. That´s like expecting the lion not to eat you because you didn´t eat him!


Have you ever been to the Hamburger Dom?

Do you like funfairs?


Thanks for reading.


Stay focused

Love, Soldier 

Sort:  

Well written post and great pictures. But for me the best part is the quote of the day.

I have been to Hamburger Dom once. I only got the chance to ride "die Raupe" and the Sky Dance. I regret it immediately after Sky Dance as i got too dizzy and couldnt ride the other rides. My friend however managed to ride all the rides. I envy those who dont get motion sickness easily..

wonderfull,
I was there too a few months ago.

Holy sh*t lol, that looks like so much fun girl @soldier. I wish I wasn't pregnant and could go to things like that . I love rollercoasters and rides in general , brings the excitement out of us :D and all the fear

Ohh you can do it later with your baby together if it´s a little older. All the best for your little family

I can't wait haha , enjoy summer a bit late , why not right ? You had fun ?

Great shots beautiful girl :D

So beautiful....

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

been there often, always funtimes!

what a nice place to spend a day...just a day, walking all day is tiring...

Excellent post, greetings ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71153.91
ETH 3862.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51