Tasty Homemade Falafel | COOKING WITH SOLDIER

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Cooking is LOVE made visible



Going out to eat is always an adventure for me. I am very picky when it comes to food because I really want the best otherwise I feel dissatisfied and keep searching until I find the most delicious spot in town. Many dishes are made in a rush these days and not with love and passion like the the foods your grandma used to cook for you. That´s why I decided to recreate the tastiest meals that my friends and I discovered while traveling around the globe. The most important benefit by cooking by myself is definitely the knowledge about whats inside. You never know what kind of ingredients restaurants or fast food chains put into their meals but I´d like to control what I put into my body. 

Today I wanted to try out a dish that actually comes from the Middle East. It is called "Falafel". People mostly combine it with fresh baked bread, salad or tasty sauces. I first discovered Falafel in a flatbread, wrapped together with a salad and Tzatziki. It was so tasty and a complete new flavor for me. But it can be served in many different ways. I focused on creating the main dish so let me know if you want to see some examples what you can add to the Falafel so it becomes a whole meal. 


Falafel 


Ingredients

for 5 servings

  • 15 oz cans of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • ¼ cup (10 g) fresh parsley
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup (115 g) bread crumbs
  • oil, for frying



Before you start to blend the ingredients together in a mixer, make sure to drain and rinse the chickpeas properly. After that is done, add the drained and rinsed chickpeas, onion, parsley, garlic, lemon juice and spices. I recommend a 2-quart food processor but a normal mixer is working as well. 





After you blended everything together, put the chickpea mixture into a bowl and add the bread crumbs. Now mix it until just incorporate, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1-2 hours, or overnight. It takes some time before you can work with the chickpea mixture but trust me, it´s worth the wait. 



If the time is up, remove the bowl from the refrigerator and start to shape the falafel mixture into 1-inch balls. The mixture should yield 18-20 balls. 



You are almost done!

In a frying pan with high sides, heat about 1 inch of oil to 350˚F (180˚C). Fry the falafel balls in batches of 6 for 3-6 minutes, flipping halfway. Once they are golden brown and crispy, transfer them to a paper towel-lined plate and sprinkle with salt. 


To finish it up, serve the Falafel as desired. Wrapped up in a pita break, as a salad topping or with a delicious tahini sauce. 

- Et Violà - 





Have you ever tried homemade Falafel?


Thanks for reading

Stay focused

Love, Soldier 



Sort:  

I have eaten falafel countless times from numerous places mostly it's green but it can also be like this though in arabia we originally don't add bread crumbs plus it is more of a disc in shape . But this one also looks great so stop complaining

It is very interesting to hear different options because this was the very first time that I made Falafel. I have seen brown and green ones all over the world. I think the most important ingredients are the spices....

Falafel is made from dried chickpeas/fava beans which are soaked in water for several hours. Whereas this video used cooked chickpeas that comes in a can. That's the major difference!

Totally true! The chickpeas need to be soaked in water before you add them into the mixer. It really makes a huge difference

Nice recipe mam... I didn't try it before.... it seems to be really tasty.... i will try once at home.🙂

It is SO tasty! I do not eat a lot of meat so I try to cook more vegetarian options. Falafel is definitely one of my favorite dishes and it is so easy to make

Get Automated DAILY upvotes! FREE

steem.link/more

Get 0.1 Free Steem Just To Join

Glad to see you again cooking with @soldier is really a great experience.

It lOoks very yummmy Falafel, I wanna try to like your recipe :)

Wow you are an all rounder great cooking skills too wonderful :D

I like how you did this post. You had Gifs with the moving posts and then still pictures. Cool post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72