How to trick your mind - Chapter 5

in #life7 years ago

For everyone who is new on my blog, I have a series called „How to trick your mind“. I am not a psychologist but I have many tips and tricks on how to trick your mind to live a better and happier life. I cant promise that it will work for you, because you have to be patient and stay strong while using these specific task I am going to show you. It´s not going to be easy



I have so many topics to talk about and its hard for me to decide with which theme I am going to start. But for todays episode I chose -  

 5 Things to give up! 

Everyone of us has habits. Good and bad ones. I have found out 5 habits that we should try to destroy due to live a happier and more positive life. We pursuit to have more time but who did ever think about that stress shortens our durability ? If we learn to reduce stress while giving up on bad habits can lengthen our lifetime for many years. I also have a quick trick on how these tips will help you. Challenges! I love to give myself challenges. For example, I remember the day I wanted to be a happier person. I thought about positivity and on how to think positive. Now I decided to challenge myself to talk and think positive for a whole month. It was a long time - one week would be also ok to start with. So tryout to stick to your task a whole week at least, due to get better results.  

 Now lets start with 5 big topics which I want to explain and also to fight the bad.  


 Overthinking 

People are prone to overthinking. It means that you use your imagination to create something you do not want. Have you ever screen shotted a text conversation with your crush or boyfriend and spent hours picking apart the details and by details means I mean decided if „hey“ is different from „Hi“ ? Do you have anxiety if the picture you posted on Instagram earlier will get positive or negative feedback? Or are you desperate about why someone had unfollowed you? Do you find it difficult to make decisions? Analyze yourself  because if you have any of these problems I mentioned above or even similar ones then you are an over thinker! I want you to give up overthinking! I believe you know exactly when and in which situations you are an over thinker. Give up these thoughts because you often aren't able to know the outcome of a situation so it also makes no sense to over think it.  


 Fearing Change  

A change is important to get rid of contaminated sites and make space for the new. There are many fears. Fear of the unknown. Fear of failure. Fear of success. Fear of loss. Fear of upsetting others. Fear of leaving the comfort zone. Self-doubt. Guild. So I give you the tip to focus on the individual. Analyze your fear in order to fight it. Even if you do not know the outcome, be exited for the change. Positivity plays a major role in fighting the anxiety. Think about great results. While you do that, you send out signals to the universe which will lead you to the right path. Think positive and you do not have to fear the change! 



 Living in the past 

If you live in the past you are going to miss the opportunities that life will give you. Always remember - You can not change the past so living in it will just stop you. We often chose to live there because its familiar to us. Especially when the past was good you would chose to live it it because just thinking back on it gives you a feeling of happiness and comfort. But you can also this connect to fearing change. Do not fear the change and the future so you will avoid living in the past. Think about here and now! 


 Negative Self-Talk 

The hard part about self-talk is that it always feels true. Self-talk is always skewed towards the negative. If you have depression, it is particularly likely that you interpret things negatively but with a little practice you are able to learn to notice your own negative self-talk and choose to think about the situation in a more realistic and positive way. Challenging the way you think about things may not be easy at first but with some practice you will get better.  



 Trying to please everyone 

I just read this quote -

Trying to please everyone is a recipe for stress, misery and frustration. Be yourself. It´ll be good to know who´s down with that.  

And this made me happy thoughts because there is so much truth inside this sentence where everyone could learn about. Especially that one part - Be yourself , it´ll be good to know who´s down with that. Who would still be by your beside if you were yourself and already stopped to please everyone? Think about that.  I also found this quote the other day - 

Lost myself trying to please everyone else. Now I´m losing everyone while I´m finding myself.  

As I already said, be true to who you are and everyone who is attracted by that will follow you.  



I hope that you may now have a little insight on things you should give up in order to live a longer, happier and less stressful life! I just give you a quick reminder of the Challenges I talked earlier about.  


 Challenge yourself  

Set an end date when you want to end this challenge. Like right now. We have the 22nd of May. I want to challenge myself not to overthink for a whole week. I am going to start right now and this Challenge will end at the 30th of May late evening.  Every time you stoped focusing on important things and started thinking about other stuff way too long, this should be your wake-up call to switch the ideas to another topic. Maybe what you are going to eat for dinner but chose the food you thought about first! And when you passed the first week you are going to challenge yourself the next 2 weeks and so on. But keep in mind, if you lost, also for a single day, you have to start from the beginning.  


Sometimes, "giving up" can be a good thing

Thanks for reading and I wish wish everyone good luck who is trying out to give up on these 5 things or other bad habits.

 Stay focused

Love, Soldier

Sort:  

You have found 5 excellent ways to improve life, thank you for sharing!

Thank you!

Valid points noted. Good post. Following you. I saw your message in chat. This is my profile. Thanks and Regards.

Excellent quotes in "trying to please everyone" part.

Yeah they made me think about this topic so hard!

Great advice! That negative self talk is very real. Sometimes we can be our own worst enemy.

So true! So er have to fight against this damn self-talk

So true, living in the moment is the key, best not to dwell in the past or fear the future, just focus on the now.

Great post, going to share it with the girlfriend!

Thanks, appreciate it!

Very insightful and helpful post!

Thank you !

Wow, this is awesome stuff!! Thank you @soldier!!
I came on board Steem it in February, glad to have found you.
Love this quote:
"Trying to please everyone is a recipe for stress, misery and frustration. Be yourself.

It'll be good to know who´s down with that.


Following now!!

Thanks so much! Really appreciate it !

Great read, thank you! Upvoted and followed!

Thanks appreciate it!

Thanks for tips! Who wouldn`t be wanting to live a better and happier life. :)

Thats right ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61