Fuel Dumping - How To Buy Cheap Flight Tickets

in #life7 years ago

I travel a lot so when it comes to save money, my ears are wide open and listen...



Flight tickets can be really expensive. 

Especially when you travel a lot, you need to check the price twice. I have never experienced a first class flight because the costs are so much higher than economy seats which literally makes no sense for me except when they offer comfortable beds and great food. Anyway, the price of a simple airplane tickets consist of airport charges, the aircrew, air traffic control (tower), aircraft and kerosene prices. 


This image is in german ... here a quick translation 

A flight ticket from Cologne to Bergamo costs 80€

(red - 16€ Airport | yellow - 15€ shares on the airplane | purple - 38€ shares for the airline | grey - 8€ kerosene | blue - 3€ air traffic control )


I found out a cool trick how to save some money by booking an airplane ticket with fuel dumping.


Have you ever seen something like this and wondered what it was ?


 But what is fuel dumping?

 The term fuel dumping has two different meanings. The first importance is the actual process. If an airplane is overloaded and needs to land sooner than expected, it drains fuel over an uninhabited area. This process is called "fuel dumping" and is used in emergencies with the approval of the relevant air traffic control authorities. The reason for that is very simple. When an aircraft touches down to the ground, it needs a special weight. The tank of an aviator is fueled at the start and thus heavier than is permitted for landing. Normally  plane looses the necessary fuel at a normal flight. If an emergency landing takes place, the aircraft has to get rid of the excess fuel, so that it can land safely


Second

The second meaning of fuel dumping is to avoid the fuel surcharge. If you buy a plane ticket, there are different price sections listed. They show how the price is put together. These are the base fare, taxes & fees and the YQ (fuel surcharge). Sometimes the price of the fuel surcharge be omitted. To that belongs - Brazil, New Zealand and the Philippines. If you book a single open jaw, which flights above one of the listed countries, you will save the fuel surcharge. In some cases, mistakes are made in the calculation of the fuel surcharge. It often happens at double open jaws and third strikes. The talk is about "Error Fares". There are ways how you can bypass the surcharges very easy but you need to do a little research before. When you book your flights, check which countries you are crossing! If they are traveling through countries where the state forbids the airlines to charge a fuel surcharge in the ticket price, this surcharge will be canceled and your overall ticket price will be reduced...

This is one of the reasons why open jaw flights are often much cheaper than flights with the same pick-up and drop-of airport. 


*source1 source2 


Travel is one of life’s great pleasures. It can be thrilling, relaxing, adventurous, pure fun, and even life changing




Fuel dumping (or a fuel jettison) is a procedure used by aircraft in certain emergency situations before a return to the airport shortly after takeoff, or before landing short of its intended destination (emergency landing) to reduce the aircraft's weight. - Wikepedia

Saving money is never easy. But this trick can save you quickly a few hundred dollars depending on the flight distance. So check flight rates before booking. 

Are you traveling a lot or have ever experienced and tried fuel dumping? I just read about it a few days ago and will definitely try it out on my next trip. 

- I receive so many positive feedbacks on my posts which motivates me to keep going and keep writing. I appreciate every single one of you and I am so glad to be able to give you the right motivation and the right influence. As my early followers may know, I didnt use any social media before Steemit. I used to delete all my accounts many years ago and as soon as I started with Steemit, I thought about starting with a new and fresh Instagram account as well. My followers have been rising a lot but I stopped at some point. People were less active, less positive and posting some pictures of me made literally no sense to me. I felt that people do not appreciate the time I put into creating captures, shooting amazing photos and so on. The community on Steemit is so different from all the other social medias I know and that makes it so special to be part of it. Thank you for every support, really appreciated. - 



Thanks for reading 


Stay focused

Love, Soldier 

Sort:  

It happens more often then you think. In stormy conditions the aircraft needs to be as light as possible if it lands.

Reason enough to try it out right ?

wow thanks for information

Your welcome :-) glad you like it

Good advice. I used kayak and skyscanner and you can set a price trigger,at which point it will send you an email when the price drops below a threshold...Also tried no frills airlines

Good pages, maybe try out powersearch where they will show you the cheapest dates and best times as well...

This is great to read. Helpful and useful info! We all want the cheapest flights ever.

Glad you like it !

Hey girlll, thank god today was not a good post :D but this was fuel packed with info (; learning something new everyday @solider

Not a good post? Didnt you like it? Saving money should be interesting for everyone ;)

Whatt , of course it was was , saving money is always the real deal ;) you already know how it is :D

Hey, this was very informative. I travel a lot too, I will definitely look out for this in future! :) Thanks, happy Steeming!

Let me know if it works for you ...

i prefer to use sky scanner and then research into local avia lines, there can be like 30% less of sky scanner also there might be affiliate programm so its extra 5-10% discount:) but information about fuel is important too.

Sometimes these pages are also more expensive than fuel dumping. I use to book there too, I like to save some money especially on expensive flights

Great information. I used to travel a lot but this is totally new to me. Thanks so much for sharing.

Hope you can use it in the future

thanks for sharing,anything that saves money is always useful to know.

so true.. totally agree with you

This is definitely a great way to save some money ! Especially for those who travel a lot. I don't travel at all yet but It's my goal to travel around the world in the future, so gotta keep this post in mind !

You really should travel a lot ! It makes you a better person and you will never forget these great adventures !!

Yes I believe that. I won't give up on this goal :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36