20 Things Today´s Kids Will Never Understand

in #life7 years ago (edited)
"IF THE LOVE DOESN´T FEEL LIKE 90´s R&B - I DON´T WANT IT."




I am a 90´s kid and maybe still one of the younger generation here on Steemit but since I grew up with 5 older siblings, I have gone through things that todays kids will never understand or never have...

I am so happy to look back to my childhood and remembering all those funny games, times of laughter, playing in the nature or just having quality time with friends and family. When I accidentally clicked on some gossip news pages, I found some articles and pictures about stuff we had in the past that kids of todays generation will never understand! I am pretty sure that almost everyone of you will remember at least 2-3 things that I am going to write down later...

I have written many articles explaining what children of today´s generation are doing wrong or maybe not doing wrong in general but what they are doing different than we used to do. Its also called the smartphone generation which meets up without talking to each other, looking at the screen for most of the time and scrolling through social media like it´s the most interesting book we have ever read! Anyway, I was giggling when I first saw the following pictures because so many old memories came up which made me think of doing a Steemit post about it! 

Enough talking for now, let´s jump right into the memories 


1. Video Shop

Going to the video shop and spending hours starring at dvd covers because you could could only pick 1 movie to watch that night. 


2. CD Storage

Keeping your CD`s safe...


3. MySpace Layout

Who still remembers the struggle by finding the perfect Myspace layout?


4. Learning A Song Lyrics 

Where do we look up the lyrics of a song nowadays? Right, we just type in the name of the song and the text will appear automatically. Do you remember looking up the lyrics from the cut outs in TV Hits and Smash Hits magazines?



5. Blowing On A Cassette

Sometimes the cassette wasnt working because a lot of dust was stuck inside the tape so you needed to blow away the disturbing dirt. 


6. Taking A Picture 

We are complaining about bad photo quality nowadays but when you buy a camera, you just pay once for the item which is great but who remembers the time where we could only take a limited number of photos at a time, then waiting days to be able to pay the photos in order to see them? 



7. Cartoons

I do not watch any TV but I remember switching through a few programs that I used to watch when I was little and there were literally no cartoons that deserve a like from me. But who knows great cartoons from the past?



8. Memorize Phone Numbers 

I think most of us are remembering their own mobile phone number, am I right? But there was a time where almost everyone of us could memorize the phone numbers of their friends house and maybe still do! 



9. Making Your First Website On Geocities

Not also creating a website, also making MIDI music and creed. 


10. Music On MTV

Before we had reality TV on MTV, there was music with matching music videos!


11. Game Boy Accessories 

I loved the Game Boy but this thing was like a mystery to me. This accessory made it possible to play in the dark! 


12. Classroom Excitement 

The exciting sight you see when you walk into the classroom...


13. Recording TV Episodes 

Kids nowadays do not have to worry about watching their favorite TV show because internet makes everything easy to watch later on at any time. I still remember those days were we set up a recording device in order to record the most important series when we havent enough time to watch them in the current moment. 


14. Getting Disconnected 

The feeling when your mom picked up the phone and you were disconnected with the internet. 


15. Too Small Pockets 

Who havent had a disc man? But do you remember the struggle of putting the device into your too small pockets?


16. Scratching Your CDs

Scratching your CD´s and not being able to listen to your favorite playlist was so bad!


17. Meeting Up With A Friend

A few years earlier we hadnt had the chance to call a friend when he/she was already on the way to your meet up and you felt sick or couldnt make it. 


18. Slow Starting Computers 

Oh no, it took years sometimes to just start the computer...


19. "This program has stopped responding"


20. Loosing This Ball

This specific ball was so important and it was a disaster if you couldnt find it!


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I felt like this post had no ending at all...  😀

I only mentioned 20 things on my list and I have found many more which I wanted to share but 20 listings are enough for now... 

Do you miss any of these toys or tools?

What do you remember of my listings? 


Thanks for joining me today

Stay focused 

Love, Soldier 


source 1

source 2 

Image source - 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 |  8 | 9 | 1011 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20

Sort:  

Im a relatively young 90s kid and going through this list made me relive good and bad repressed memories. I mean that both in a positive and negative way. Thank you!62840100ef01ac63fe7b586ba304ecc6.jpg

Love the list, especially number 20. So true. But what about mix tapes? Or is that even further back in the mists of time??

No, mix tapes also belong to the listing but I thought 20 points were enough otherwise this article would be too long

Kids today will never know the struggle like when i was a kid we had the portable cd players you would have to carry around extra batteries and if you rode the bus and hit a bump the cd would skip lol

Oh wow I still remember this one too! But its quite funny to talk about

"Struggle," lol. I got a transistor radio for my 6th. birthday. It was a big deal. I remember on the cover of the radio, it said "6 Transistors." AM only, of course. That was probably about 16 years before CD's hit the market. ;-)

@soldier you made me remember my childhood jajaj

That´s what I wanted :)

this is fun ) thanks for the memories )

ohh thanks for bringing my memories back! I used to go to the Video shop every a week, picking up some good films and heading back to my cousins house where we were eating chips while watching some disney films. I really miss it

Oh wow me too!
We went to the video shop every other weekend, bought snacks like chips and build a cozy castle in the middle of the living room and watched Disney movies the whole day as well!

Man, this just made me sort of smile and sad at the same time . These were honestly the good old times where life was easy and not so complicated. Now kids are too focused on bs and their phones . The Kodak reminds me of when I went to the Zoo and took pictures with it .

I think todays technology is quite cool but for adults most of the time. As you said, kids are using way too much technology and forget about the things a child should really do at this young age.... I miss kids being in the nature and embrace their fantasy

Most of those things I am happy to be without. I am downright elated to be rid of Blockbuster Video, for instance.

I also like the technology we have today but I am prettier sure that children had more fantasy and fun like today...

Lol...i must say wow wow,you nailed it and thanks for bringing up such a old memories...can't stop laughing!!!😂😂😂😂😂😂

Glad you enjoyed it :P

Scratching of CD's.

Oh yeah... It was terrible and disturbing at the same time

Yeah. At that time i was thinking that it was because the cd's where fake, that is why they where scratching.

haha really?

Yes, at least in my country nigeria at that time i knew that there were quality CD's and fake CD's and i noticed that the fake cd's were the once more with the problem of scratching.

90-е были непростым и в то же время прекрасным временем. У детей тех лет не было ни компьютера с Интернетом и социальными сетями, ни половины тех игрушек и развлечений, которые есть у современных детей. Но, тем не менее, тогдашние дети ни дня, ни часа не скучали — постоянно находили себе развлечения и были абсолютно счастливы.

Дети 90-х играли в дочки-матери, казаки-разбойники, резиночки, супер-марио на приставке «Денди», тетрис, «яйцеловку» (игра «Электроника»), собирали киндер-сюрпризы и строили в кустах сирени или акации магазины, в которых продавали пасочки с песком за листочки.

And it was beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97