This Unusual Plant Was Sitting at My Desk When I Arrived (Uncensored)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wasn't sure if it was even a plant or just something strange. The Chinese teachers (all ladies) must have been playing a joke.


For obvious reason it caught my attention and sparked my intrigue. The Chinese teachers in the room didn't know the name in English but agreed it certainly looked like a bum. They told me it was nick named "Bum Plant" in Chinese" which makes perfect sense.

So I got home and decided to google it. But what should I search with? So I figured Google AI is pretty clever and just typed in the first thing that came to mind.

I searched --> Plants that look like bums

BOOM
Google prevailed first try. LoL. The reassurance that I was not the only dog seeing what I saw was relieving.

After a little delving I learned they are called Lithops also know as Living Stones. They are by far one of the most interesting plants I've ever seen, I look forward to watching them grow. My co-workers sure have green thumbs.

And just like the real thing they come in a bunch of shapes, sizes and colours. "What do you mean the real thing?" umm.. stones of course.

But get this, they blossom into amazingly colourful flowers. They just pop up, sprouting like a volcano erupting flowers.

This planet never ceases to amaze me.

Check more pics here.
https://www.pinterest.com/AuroraBorealice/houseplants-succulents/

Sort:  

Hi @solarguy, nice article and nice photos

I get a strange tingly sensation all through my body looking at these plants..

haha. At least you didn't blush

Wow, amazing..
I like it

Beautiful photos! You are а professional! Very interesting story! Thank you for sharing! I came to know many interesting things!

Excellent. I'm so happy you said that. !! really.

This looks kind of weird. I've seen plants that looks like stone at Gardens by the Bay and I thought those were kind of weird too. Here has this fruit.:-)

From pixabay

the infamous peach bum. lol got photos to racy to share of the peach bum . lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32