I Can NOT Tell My Dad About World View... @socky

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The City of Tucson Arizona is creating an aerospace technology park. They have partnered with Raytheon Missile Systems and secured a huge area of land that will become the Aerospace Park. This is to attract aerospace innovators to move to Tucson. Tucson is already the home of thousands of Aerospace technicians, scientist, and engineers. A majority of them support Raytheon Missile Systems.

World View.jpg

The first occupant of the park is "World View Enterprises". They already have a fully operational facility and a launch pad for high altitude balloons. They are going to be offering scientific, commercial, military, and civilian flights. So far, they have been focusing on the scientific and military contracts.

Here are some milestones that World View has accomplished:

  • 1st fully integrated test flight in June
  • 1st 24+ hour mission achieved in August
  • 1st 5+ day long mission achieved in October
  • Named a 2017 "top 100" innovation by Popular Science

Stratollites

A primary focus lately has been Stratollites. They offer all the advantages of high-altitude balloons – low-cost, rapid deployability, and low-impact flight – with an innovative new development: the ability to fly a variety of trajectories – from circumnavigating the Earth to persistence over a specific location. Differing altitudes have different wind directions (sometimes completely opposite). These balloons can remain in place over an area by adjusting altitude to catch these winds to push them back into place. Just think about a satellite that stops functioning and it may take months years to deploy a new one. These balloons can be sent up for months at a time and remain in place to temporarily take over the satellite's place. The other benefit is extremely low cost instead of using satellites. They also can be recoverable, reparable, and re-deployable, where satellites cannot.

World View

World View is a passenger flight option. With World View, you’ll discover what it’s like to leave the surface of the Earth behind. Every tree, every building, even the mountains themselves become smaller and smaller as you gently and effortlessly rise above.The breathtaking view unfolds before you—our home planet suspended in the deep, beckoning cosmos. Your world view will be forever changed.

Why I have to keep this a secret:

Ever since my dad retired, he has been on some sort of bucket list adventure tour. He has been going to the Bonneville Salt Flats for speed week. Last year he participated in the Baja 1000. He is always finding something new. When my dad came to visit me, he asked me about the new building with the red tower. I just knew that if I told him that it was a company that is offering flights to the edge of space, my dad would sell everything even a kidney to book a flight. So I just told my dad I had no idea what this company was. I think if cryptocurrency goes mainstream and I make a ton of money, I'll go ahead and book my dad that flight and surprise him.

Please remember to VOTE and ReSteem

Sort:  

Wow, i wish i could take a flight like this

I'm not sure if I trust it, but I want to go.

Ok, so you lied to your dad... shame on you @socky, poor guy just wants to go to space xD
I can understand him, i also want to go on a adventure-spree when i retire, and i haven't even begun working :D

I feel terrible.

Its really true
great dear
world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.

A really big book! Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72