You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Bad Boy Charm and the blurred line between Protagonists and Antagonists

in #life6 years ago

I admit bad guys are more interesting and exciting than good guys. The thing that always intrigues me about most antagonists in the story though is only due to the fact that most of them have a sliver of good, or a quality that contradicts the evil inside of them. If that doesn't exist, the character loses all appeal. Most screenwriters and authors know the antagonist is boring if they lose that complexity, unless they are writing straight horror. Usually I root for the good guy, and in real life, truly evil people despise me. They need to be taken out. Thanks for your insights! :)

Sort:  

I hope you meant disgust me or something :P Otherwise, why do evil people despise you? :D Only joking, of course.
I agree completely, a plain evil dude is boring, but I'm not talking about those. Not the guy who just goes around chopping up people for no real reason. That's no fun, obviously.

Most screenwriters and authors know the antagonist is boring if they lose that complexity,

Yes, clearly, but that's what I love about most antagonists I've seen/read lately, that they're not just "that jerk", you know? They have a very complex backstory and way of thinking.

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

Haha, yes. I totally had that backwards. I despise them. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66