PSA: Adolescense Does Not Exist

in #life6 years ago

Thought about this a while back and began to read some articles confirming my beliefs. Adolescence does not exist. It is a modern day construct to keep young adults in school longer and continue the infantilization process. See the except from a 1969 article titled "Adolescence in Historical Perspective"

Beginning sometime around the 1940s, this new stage between childhood and adulthood, has had an adverse effect on our kids. To make matter worse, adolescence has only been extended to college, wasting the vigor and youth of our future. The one thing the system hates is an independent, free thinking individual that they cannot control. The elites found a way to shackle our youth to the classroom as training for when they shackle them to the cubicle. Thus, the elites have control over how the youth spend their money and time. Creating the teenager puts that money in the hands of thieves who contribute little to nothing to the development of these "teens". Without it, doctors and big Pharma would lose business from not giving these kids drugs. See the link below
https://www.pewtrusts.org/en/research-and-analysis/blogs/stateline/2018/08/24/teen-xanax-abuse-is-surging

Teachers, and educators would lose their salaries. Companies would lose a significant market share. Some musicians/artists would never see the spotlight.

The elites know that they are getting a good deal out of this and will milk this for as long as possible!

Things weren't always like this. Once upon a time, when a child turned 13 , he or she is treated as an adult. Someone that is able to make his or her own choices in life. They weren't forced to go to high school and college. They had the agency to make their own choices in life. They were able to start families and have real responsibilities and real jobs. Today these young adults have no agency and no independence. They are forced to participate in a school system that has decades of documented failures. Now they becoming more obese, more mentally ill, more violent, less independent and less intelligent.

I should know as I participated in it. When I was a "teen", I had very little responsibility and nothing much was expected out of me expect get good grades. I was brainwashed into believing that good grades was all I needed to succeed in life; Once I had the grades, everything else would just work out. Of course, as time as went along, reality settled in as I began to look at how my academically superior peers ended up going nowhere; if the world didn't care about their grades, why should they care about mine?

Now here I was in the real world with nothing but a documented piece of paper that was largely worthless (the average GPA in college is well above 3.0 BTW). And now I have to go out and make a name for myself (part of the reason why I am here on Steemit). That means no more "help" from parents and or the system, and no more safe spaces. I finally had the opportunity to experience real success and real failure. As a result, I now have learned more in the past 3 years than the 8 years I spent in post middle school academic career. So the real question was why wasn't I able to have this opportunity before? Looking back, I could have made the same mistakes I made recently, 8 years ago; bad jobs, poor investments, bad decisions, conflicts with other people etc. The only difference is that I have lost 8 years of my life that I am never going to get back.

We highly underestimate what our kids can do today. You can read so many stories on kids doing things that adults can only dream of. And what's the difference? it isn't genetics. They received proper education and support from their parents.

It is a shame that most teenagers aren't allowed to experience the opportunities that life can present to them because they spend every weekday stuck in a classroom, learning nonsense that they will forget in a few months but good parenting can change all of that. It's obviously easier said than done. But this post isn't going to provide you with a solution, only to highlight the problem. The solution in my opinion, will vary from child to child, which is outside anyone's domain.

It's too late for me, but not for the children. Let's all do our part to make sure this cycle of slavery doesn't continue!

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @snoreball! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You made your First Vote
You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

very nicely written. Finally on this site that makes me think... well of course there are all those crypto graphs that i don't understand... those make me think.

Thanks. The situation is a lot more dire than I described. I didn't even mention social media and the increasing suicide rates.

It isn't a coincidence than most teenagers start to rebel at age 13. Keeping these "kids" chained, is an act against human nature. Things are getting worse, and I fear this is only the beginning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74