You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Striving for a Better Future? Community is the Answer

in #life7 years ago

This is a wonderful post that is near and dear to my heart!! I grew up in a very close neighborhood where if you needed a band-aid you just went to the nearest house and asked the "Mom" there for one.

We are loosing so much by not interacting with the people around us. Makes me very sad.

Sort:  

Agree totally @snook. It's basically the only way we're going to get back to what actually makes us human.

Have you noticed that lot's of younger people do not know how to have a face to face conversation? The art of just talking is getting lost.

Many a day a friend and I would spend it sitting under a tree just talking...... I wonder how many people could do that for a whole afternoon now with no phones!

Hmmm, I actually believe strongly that the millenial generation is THE most connected generation in terms of face-to-face interaction since the immediate post-war generation. They have VERY strong friendship ties and are not interested in the same old consumerist neoliberal tripe that's been served up for the last 40 years. I actually think that it's the baby-boomer generation (of which I'm one) that is narcissistic, pathologically individualised, mentally sick (as a population), and complacent, and who have just given up on all their old idealism and who have become the Trumps and Clintons of today's world. It is only the millenials who give me hope for a better world because they oppose traditional capitalism so much.

I guess the only way I can answer this is to say I'm happy you feel there is hope for the future.

I'm a baby boomer too tho at the end of it......and find people my parent's age fall into more what you're talking about then people I am friends with.

I think a lot of it is the environment you have to work and live in that changes how we see what is going on around us, good or bad.

I think you're right here @snook. It really is about our social environment. It just seems to me that the most conservative people I meet these days are baby boomers (and yes, I'm 1960s!) who are always complaining about what they've lost and yet it's people of they're own age who have taken it away from them (because they voted them in). We really do live in VERY strange times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51