You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why seeking knowledge is more important than skills

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Thought provoking V.

I currently find myself in a situation where I have graduated university without having completed an internship. Not an ideal situation. I do believe I have acquired meaningful, useful information relative to my degree field (marketing).

Some people, perhaps often, find themselves applying for a position after graduation with less than the required experience. Sometimes this is fine, other times the resume goes directly to the bin. When I abstract away from waking 'work' life, I find it very easy to claim knowledge is superior to skills. As I set across from a suit and tie in a gilded office, I find it very hard to articulate how the corporate world can confirm, with only my knowledge, that I can apply my knowledge and skills to carry out, effectively, the required tasks of the position.

In your post you write: "When you have the knowledge you will directly pay attention to the solution of the problem."

What if the problem is a lack of skills? Especially when other agents, to some extent, require said skill set. Even more so when the overwhelming majority of ones quality of life is tied to their work.

Perhaps the answer lies in ones knowledge of experience. What is experience if not an employers confirmation of an employees skills and effectiveness? If experience is the problem, there is no rule one cannot work for themselves, or vouch for their own experience, their own application of their skill set. Most textbook definitions of a business include the words "social institution." Ones honed focus on the social institutions that exist, the problems they solve, and where they as an individual may fit into the big picture would be a damn good start, and a very effective way of living out a proof that knowledge, even in a gilded office, is superior to skills.

...and then there is the chance I've way overthought this. At lest I enjoyed the post! Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22