I had a friend...

in #life6 years ago

A strange year, as they all are, &yet this one struck down just a touch more novel.
A short year, as they have become incresingly so, &still the events shattered through the vessels attempting containment.
A sinful resolution, as the exhaustion took toll, &then the sweet call of siren distracted, if only a moment.
Her melody echoed between the gaps hidden away behind my aching eyes, as if to ignore my protests. She knew I wished to never open them again, and she found an abuse of her learnings in deeper knowledge; secret information played out as honey soaked song, inspiring all of my physical toward revolution against me.
It seemed the case that her mysterious eruption from nowhere, a random, if unwelcome, intrusion into my existence, well it seemed the case....
She came from a dream! I insist! I relent! My eyes had agreed, before her inspiration anyhow, that we should shed the world from our sight and find our peace in damnation! But then the ears beckoned, "won't you glance at the source?" And when opened, my eyes betrayed me! "We know now you lied to us, there is beauty out there, and with this new sight we refuse to refuse life. We give in to the lust for light!"
I was so angry, my plans all a mess. I approached this young lady and asked, "Well, maiden, how do you plead? You understand I was finished? I was on my way out? But now you sit here, in front of me, and give my head, heart, and soul doubts? This is not fair, oh fairest of females. Please go at once."

She smiled and sweetly refused, oh so kind.
She granted a heart full of care and fixed mine.
I fell deep in love with this new friend of mine. But just as I did, a rug was pulled out from under me. I spun and twisted at least a thousand times before striking the ground, confused, half way blind.
Once I realized where I was and, of course, who, I searched for the girl I had found new life through.
She was gone, with her song, with her image, with her hope. And even the rug was gone, though was it with her, how could I know?
So I sat, and I cried, and I called out her name, and the folks who lived with and loved with me day after day came to my aide.
They all spoke the same, droning, tired old 'wisdom': the girl is no good, forget your new friend, pretend her but a vision.

And as the time passed, I assumed I'd see they were right. And I'd go right back to summoning forever-night...

But it didn't happen. I don't think it will.
Understand this, stranger:
This year was a ride that I can't forget.
And I made a friend. And even if I never see her again, and even if she was no good in the end, and even if I lose everyone who loves me to this obsession;
I heard her voice sing, "I love you," in my hearts favorite tune, so now, as I dance to that beat:

Dear friend, I love you. I hope someday we can be simple and happy and friendly again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65