My 10+%

in #life5 years ago

So... I got a job! I don't remember if I mentioned here or not, but it's doing electronics work. At work I'm actively engaged and doing something I enjoy. Win-Win that it's close to home and the pay is fair.
In addition to the job, have the new baby about to be popping into our home any day now,...

Where does this 10+% come in you may be asking..?

I've decided to do it right, planning for possible futures. This means about 10-15% of every pay period will go-to investing in the future. Be it Traditional stocks and investment accounts, crypto, and the beautiful "other"... I'm making the stand now. At the start of each year, I'll pillage & loot this fund of 5% into a traditional savings account to cover unknown expenses and "toys" I may want faster access to, cuz, you know, instant gratification.

This sounds familiar

That it does, 5% is how the @bloks @steemdrops token is going to go as well.... Which is still a work in progress, I spend about an hour and a half each day working and planning on that aspect of my life, the legacy of "me" that I desire to leave behind when I leave this world, for the benefit of all. ^>^

What's that mean

People die every day, most leave a whirlwind of unknown factors behind,... They didn't plan for death, nor did they anticipate it would come as soon (or instantly) as it did, I want to be prepared.

Forward Motion

Life is always moving forward, resist the urge to swim backwards and correct the past, you can't. You can only move forward, no need for additional time commitments to the past.

The Plan

For now, I'm going 67% into traditional and 33% into crypto. The first purchase was Bitcoin, the next will begin a cryptocurrency bucket, I'll settle on 5 coins to hodl and go from there. Of I were to decide today, I'd only be willing to go with Ethereum, EOS, Stellar Lumens, possand maybe steem(1). These are the ones I know a little about, and well, I don't know right now, as that's all that's popping to mind as I find myself about to go-to sleep. (:

1

Steem is seemingly and most unfortunately, Nostalgia, at this point in my life from a monetary standpoint: A hobby I may sink money into but expect no external long term gains from other then memories and updates in the now.

Development

I still believe in steem as a database for the distributed web, however, I find myself at odds... I want to step away from the capitalist ideals and move towards a more,.. free and open future. I know this will never happen over night, but it's something I've been thinking about A LOT lately, and that's is, I just want to be comfortable and have fun. I can't do both easily, but I can shift my mindset. In the shift from capitalist to openness, I'm going to work on both. Steem and Distributed or "free and open", as they both can and will always continue to co-exist. @blokz will be build distributed first, steem second. The backbone, being steem. This is a chicken and egg dilemma of sorts, of which I don't want to discuss at this point, but it's gonna be fun!

Long ranty post

Must end... So I just want to tell everyone,. Thank you and I appreciate you more than words could ever explain. For the bottom of my distracted with shiny objects heart and beard, I love you. Stay safe and well until we meet again friend.

oops

Day 1 (first 24 hours post funds transfer clearing) of holding my best egg.... I've lost an egg, already my traditional investment is down 1%, this is gonna sound weird, but I think this may actually be good... If a downward trend continues to develop, and I continue buying into the dip, the recovery will be that much sweeter down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75