You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How education has changed in my lifetime.

in #life8 years ago

Well, my dad is a teacher. The year after I graduated High School my state started requiring all students to pass a stupid test first year I think over 50% of the students failed so the moved the requirements around. My dad has told me teaching is no longer about teaching and seeing kids learn, with all the standardized tests being required, he said as a teacher his job has become one of getting a student to know just what is needed to pass a stupid test. When my wife and I eventually have kids I will not send them to any form of public education, I will find other ways they can learn and I think they will love it more than sitting in a classroom being told what to do all day.

Sort:  

As schools have become more a political area parents have to ensure children learn the joy of just learning.

True, I guess I always hated school growing up, but I lived on a reservation since my dad was a teacher, so from the start your right it was a political institution, and was not ever really encouraged to go out and learn on my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2464.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65