A good topic is not an assurance for good votes: Content and marketing also matters!

in #life7 years ago

moving-forward-21574195.jpg
I have been away for a while to observe and re-invent myself.
I spoke with @ehiboss after my last post to teach me how to get better audience to my post, and he told me one thing which stood out which was it is not about the topic, but about how to get the right content to relate with your audience and how to relate with others well.
He told me to take a break and re-discover myself and that was what I did.

topic.jpg

Is having a good topic ever enough

The first thing I did was to take a look at the trending page and I discovered something amazing: those trending didn't simply rely on the nature of their topics, they had to produce good content and proper marketing for their topics.
Complaining never solves anything, it only puts the individual in a bad light.

Those who succeed don't spend their time complaining about an issue, they instead look for the solution.

I realized to complain and blame others for our misfortunes as minnows is easy, but to accept that sometimes it requires that "extra" effort to make it, takes a lot of responsibility.
Nobody ever got to the top relying solely on luck. Luck can further be defined as when opportunity meets preparation.
Life gives us the choice to either complain when we don't get what we want, or to take some time and learn from why those that succeed actually succeed.

I realized on steemit, many minnows actually prefer to complain when their topics don't attract high votes, but do they know these few things:

  • Proper relations matter a lot
  • It takes time to become a somebody
  • A catchy topic does not mean amazing content
  • Your personality and mannerism is essential
  • Helping others also helps you

Most people especially minnows don't realize that life is a journey and we have to constantly face challenges as proof that we are still on that journey. Do we actually take time to learn new things?
@ehiboss asked me what was the extra I was adding to make me extra-ordinary and I realize I simply posted and left but never really 'contributed' my own quota to the community.

Most times, the journey to the top usually starts at the bottom, we must acknowledge that it is a gradual step.
There are so many amazing topics I see every-time, but the problem I see there is the content of those topics usually do not match the topic entailed.

beringer-finance-hero2017.jpg

Going backward as the way forward

It sounds ironic right, but what I mean is minnows and those who complain sometimes need to actually re-invent themselves and see if the content actually deserves being called worthy of the whale votes.
It's easier to complain than to work, that is why it is called hard work not easy work.

When we complain with others, we have just unwittingly decided to peg our success at a point. Nobody ever made it far by complaining, the time wasted complaining could be spent actually developing yourself.

I believe we need to read more, study why others succeed, relate with successful people and adopt their mentality, instead of deciding to settle for less.
Am a Nigerian by birth and I have realized that no matter where in the world I find myself, success is not gotten by complaining, it is gotten by acting on what you want.

Some basic tips people often forget about posting:

  • The use of paragraph.
  • The use of punctuation marks.
  • The use of references.
  • The use right images
  • The use of right tags
  • The way to communicate with the targeted audience

These are some few things people omit and later feel that they are worthy of the same thing that those that have remembered to put it.
Like I initially said, life is in stages and we have to go through it step by step.
I believe steemit favors those who know how to never give up instead of complain.

A word is enough for the wise

Image source: 1-2-3

generic.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to the good life of posting creative content. You should also know that networking is also needed.

Thanks. I will try to network better.

I see you learnt a thing or two, however try to contribute more to the community.
And good to see that your writing skills are improving, there is always room for improvement, never forget that.

I will improve, please teach me how to reduce photos

God tips smallville ;) You must be a big fan of Superman

I am a big fan...are you?

Congratulations @smallville! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66551.16
ETH 3591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.97