You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Crap I Put Up With (as a Woman in Crypto) Because You Say You're "Not a feminist"

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I just don't hear any feminists fighting as aggressively about other women in other countries like they do in our own.

I don't see feminists arguing for men's rights.

I don't see feminists who are not fighting hard for their right to be a victim.

To turn feminism on it's head, all you have to do is replace the words "women" with "men". The grass is always greener on the other side and modern feminism seems much more about cherry picking the best parts of being a dude and none of that other stuff. The comedian Bill Burr said, that those hard core feminists would oh so quickly change their standpoint should they be on a sinking ship and all the women and children were being ushered to the life boats first.

I am a man, and I actually value women highly, I am glad that you are happy when a man holds a door open for you because I am one of them. I am willing to hear, and to fight for any legitimate issues women face but I have to agree with sean-king's comment where he says that he does not agree with you sentiment.

Feminists would achieve much more if they focused less on being a victim and the assumption of absolute and tyrannical patriarchy, and more on reaching an understanding that BOTH sexes are faced with significant issues that are really worth exploring.

Argue with this as you may but the simple truth of the matter will remain.

To get anywhere with inequality, we need to do it together, and this cannot be achieved when each side feels relentlessly attacked no matter how hard they work towards equality.

Sort:  

just don't hear any feminists fighting as aggressively about other women in other countries like they do in our own.
I don't see feminists arguing for men's rights.
I don't see feminists who are not fighting hard for their right to be a victim.

(So, in that last one you're saying you only see feminists who are fighting hard for their right to be a victim? Sorry, that is a confusing sentence. )

You're not looking hard enough, then. Anecdotal evidence doesn't make it true. Scroll through the Steemit front page.

feminism seems much more about cherry picking the best parts of being a dude and none of that other stuff.

I think you need to think about your opinions on gender roles in particular. The fact that you say "the best parts of being a dude" makes me think that you're not quite there on the "equality" part.

I am willing to hear, and to fight for any legitimate issues women face

@susanne and I literally just told you about legitimate issues we face in the workplace. These things happen to women all the time. In 2012, just 18 percent of computer-science college graduates were women, down from 37 percent in 1985. Do it. Fight.

this cannot be achieved when each side feels relentlessly attacked no matter how hard they work towards equality.

You're going to feel uncomfortable sometimes. I do too. People call me out for being racist, or sexist and I have to think about to and reassess my views and actions. This is part of the process. I'm not claiming perfection here.

You say you don't want women to play the victim card, well, don't play the victim card either. You're not being relentlessly attacked (or at least, I don't see evidence of that here). We're having a conversation about being a woman in tech. We address these specific issues with the word feminism because they relate to women.

There are places to speak about overall equality, in this case, we're speaking about Women in Tech. Feminism applies here.

scum I agree with most of what you said but I do not think feminism and I mean the dictionary definition has anything to fight for in western democracies as imperfect as they are. Not one feminist can point to a law that gives men any rights women don't have in west... If they want to get on a plane and go march through the centre of Mecca more power to them but from where I'm standing at best they come across as immature and naive puppets and at worst malicious and vindictive misandric puppet masters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53