Blending yourself with the ALL

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So, I was going to do a bit on the many benefits of pomelo. I still might, as I have a theme of sorts with beneficial plants, fruits, and natural medicines of my home here in Malaysia that I'm trying to follow. I subscribe to the follow plants McKenna model of life for the most part, with one exception. Myself!

This is where my miracle fruit post took a turn. A bit of background, last week I got married and found myself following not only my heart but the hearts of many diverse cultural and religious groups in attendance. There were too many people to please and like the song says, you can't please everyone so you got to please yourself. And, in this case the self part was happily sacrificed for the greatest good and the spirit of unification.

I found myself going through with ancient Hindu purification rites this time last week which culminated in me washing off all the rose water, sandalwood paste, vermilion, flower petals in a most exquisitely contemplative and intimate shower.

One of the offerings I received was a huge organic pomelo from my father in law. He told me that I should save the peel,pith, and skin as its good for many things. What things? I didn't know, and after a week of guests and celebrations I still didn't know. But, I found myself feeling very drained and remembering how charged up I felt from my post ritual shower, so I decided I'd bathe with this fruit.

This brings me back to the follow yourself creed, listen to your gut instinct and intuition. I didn't google anything. I just went into shaman mode. I took the peel and blended it with mineral water, I then strained it. Is this enough? Nope, I decided I'd add a bit of apple cider vinegar, some Himalayan salt and some turmeric. Finished? Nah, i recalled my wife telling me to use 7 different flowers of my choosing to shower with about a year ago when I was feeling crippled by equatorial heat. So, I walked out to my terrace and hand picked some beautiful flowers grown by yours truly. I then placed this concoction on my altar where a week before to the minute at sunset I began my journey into married life. Everything seemed in its right place, so I lit some incense and got into Shiva mode. I mixed my brew with hot water and slowly poured each pail over my body with a humble gesture of gratitude for all the things that were married into the water, my mind, my heart, and my soul.

For me this is what ritual should be. It should be personal, the espirit or breath of life placed into mindfulness and a desire to be present in the presence of all. There are no rules for SPIRITUAL awakenings or whatever you may wish to call the precious needs we all seek to transcend, just do you and enjoy the big ineffable it. Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow! Looks like you've fully immersed yourself and embraced the local culture/s - lots of the races, communities here have 'mandi bunga' (flower bath) also to cleanse one's aura or basically for better luck, especially if one has been dogged by some misfortune... :) Having said that, I've not exactly had one... yes, I am born and bred here! :D Pomelo sounds refreshing... Although I'll probably end up eating it up! :D

Cheers and have a good week ahead!

Im most definitely not a stick my toe in the water type of guy, I will do a gainer with a twist into the sea of unknowns everytime. So, yes definitely full immersion, cincai lah, and being one of three gwailou in Klang I feel well assimilated as well. In fact aside from the triple takes I get I’ve never felt like an outsider or a stranger in a strange land in Malaysia.

You should try mandi bunga and kamu boleh makan the pomelo, only the peel is typically used for mandi. I still think flower shower has a nice ring to it, and rolls of the tongue tho lol.

Tq for popping in and I appreciate the compliment on my photo I posted in your comments. I was doing the tandava the Shiva dance of ecstatic destruction 😉 Have a great week @ackhoo

Hahahaha... no worries, in rojak Malaysia, you're most fully welcome!! 😁 You'll get a few looks... but once you get the "lahs" going, you'll be one of us... Yes, flower shower rolls the tongue perfectly! I like it!! I thought you squeeze some pomelo juice into the mix too... hmmmm...

You are most welcome, like the flower shower... a breath of fresh air! Lol...

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Yes indeed! What a beautiful spiritual experience. I bet the fruit and flowers smelled wonderfully. How did you feel afterward? ❤

Im telling you forget herbal essences, I’m bumping this up to a weekend must do activity. I’ve never been a bath guy, and it’s definitely not a thing here except maybe for the ultra rich. Being on the equator we take a bare minimum of two cold showers a day. Cold water on a hot day is in and of itself invigorating and life affirming, but occasionally it’s nice to have some warm infused water in the mix. I felt very much refreshed and moisturized after my fruity flower shower. I ended up using the thick skin of the pomelo as a loofa of sorts which was the perfect exfoliating tool. I don’t like using sulfate soapy soap soap stuff, in a perfect world I’d make my own soap. But, this concoction combined with some coconut oil afterwards was very much spa like. I get more and more ideas from all of our chats, using copper vessels to store water, the memory of water, the manipulation we can charge into our water. Water is life afterall and I mean that in the deepest of ways, no matter what ones views are, water is still ultimately their supreme being. Ok, it’s caturday, time to work on my ridiculous actifit material.

TQ @orangila, love the name BTW, I assume my @teammalaysia pending promotion went through. Terbaik, terima kasih

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56