WTF is Wrong With People?

in #life5 years ago



Here in Southren Ontario, we were expecting a snowstorm today. You can always tell when we are expecting a storm, because the grocery stores are filled with people, like they are expecting to be snowed in for a fucking month. They come out in droves, buying shit they probably never thought they would ever buy, but there they are. Where I grew up, we'd take days like this, to go out to the nearest "watering hole" and have a gathering of friends. We'd call this "storm" a dusting... This "storm" is suppose to drop a grand total of 10 to 15 centimeters of snow... about 5 inches if I speak "Murikan". I hate the dayum metric system, a leftover by the father of our current PM Justin Trudeau... although many believe his real father was Fidel Castro, cause his momma was a ho... (that's another story for another day)

Anyway, I have a few days off from work, so i decided today would be a good day to go get a new android box for the tv. The one I have now has been acting up, so i decided to replace it. So I stepped out of the building and headed up the sidewalk. I looked ahead, and about a block up from where i was, i saw someone laying on the sidewalk. I didn't give them much thought, because i saw people looking down at them, and walking around them. I assumed they had dropped something and were in the process of trying to retrieve it from the snow covered sidewalk.

As I started to get closer, I noticed it was an older gentleman, his hat was on one side of him, his cane on the other, and he held something in his one hand. It was then that I realized he couldn't get up, and yet there were a couple of people who still walked right on past him. I took off running and got to his side, asked him if he was alright, and told him I would help him get up. I asked if he thought he'd broke anything, cause I didn't want to try and move him, and hurt him worse if he was seriously injured. he first asked me if I could take the letters he held in his hand and post them in the mailbox on the corner... the mainreason he had ventured out in the weather in the first place. He told me he hadn't broke anything, and directed me to his one side, because his other was the reason he had the cane.

With a little effort, I got him to his feet, and once he got his bearings and some strength back,I walked him across the road and into a take out place, it was close, and he could gather himself before he decided to go home for the day.He thanked me for my help, and I was off to get my tv box. As I sat on the bus for the short trip, I shook my head in wonder, how those people could let an old man lay on the sidewalk in the falling snow and walk on by...

What have we become? What is wrong with our world that this could even happen? People talk about being Christian... I never asked any of those who passed that old man by if they were christian, I don't care, but I am an atheist, and I know right from wrong...



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://skiponlinenow.com/wtf-is-wrong-with-people/
Sort:  

Hi, @skiponline!

You just got a 0.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Shameful. I have never seen anything like that. Normally he would be surrounded with people helping him and religion has nothing to do with it. It's good you were there.

Now, about the snow - same attitude here and Ottawa gets ice storms too. After our great ice storm, the slightest sign of freezing rain was met with whines of here we go again. I have to point out that a "storm of the century" is not a yearly event.

What have we become?

A good question to everyone. It is too much shame to even think about anyone who just passes by an old man who can not help himself. On the other hand, it is a very good thing that you were there. Maybe we should just be thankful of the opportunity to help. Kudos to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84