You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Ranking of China's Biggest Cities - For Dummies

in #life6 years ago

What about the WORST cities in China?

Here are my favorites, and failures.
Best:
#1 Shanghai
#2 Shenzhen
#3 Kunming
#4 Wuhan
#5 Hohhot
#6 Hangzhou
#7 Suzhou

Worst:
#1 Shijiazhuang
#2 Qingdao
#3 Beijing
#4 Zhengzhou
#5 Louyang
#6 Guangzhou
#7 Huangshan (the city, not the mountain)

Sort:  

You don't like Qingdao?? I can see why some people don't like Beijing, but I quite like it. I agree, Guangzhou sucks big time. Never been to Shijiazhuang but I know it is a soulless and polluted capital of Hebei. I haven't been to the other failures.

What is the difference between Shenzhen and Guangzhou? They are both in Guangdong province so I assume that they are very similar.

Qingdao is outdated, it reached its peak during the Olympics, and has been in constant degradation ever since, based on what I saw.

They have a subway, almost nobody uses it, they would rather drive their cars, and their roads are ENTIRELY off limits to bicycles.

There are more reasons, that I I could list, but like I said before, its not a city I EVER plan to return to.

Shenzhen is vastly more "user-friendly" than Guangzhou.

Shenzhen is a YOUNG city. Its also just a short commute away from Hong Kong.

I remember just getting around Guangzhou was quite a challenge, taxi drivers don't understand or care about where you want to go, even the airport. At the time, (2007) there was no subway going to the airport, and bus service was unusable.

I'm sure most cities have improved tremendously (except for Qingdao) over the past few years, and are much better than before.

their roads are ENTIRELY off limits to bicycles.

Yikes. Bad news for you.

My father got scammed in Guangzhou when he went to the airport. The driver gave him a fake 20 RMB bill. That has never happened to me anywhere.

Heh, he got off lucky.

I got Shanghaied out of $5000 RMB when I first arrived here 12 years ago.

It used to be soooo much worse, I remember gangs of beggars everywhere, children, burn victims etc.

Theft was a major issue, before you came to China as well, I've lost track of all the items I have had stolen, its part of why I'm still so jaded about this country.

Most people here don't give a damn about strangers, in fact they often consider them to be enemies.

I almost forgot how bad China was, and still is in some areas.

I heard about a popular scam in Shanghai where an attractive woman asks to use your phone because of some emergency and then she just runs away with it.

Do they have that teahouse scam in Shanghai? It's very common in Beijing.

Probably not anymore.

Too many cameras.

My incident was a slight variation of the teahouse scam, overpriced drinks. My bank refused to reject the charges because I couldn't prove it, and at the time it seemed like the police were in on the scam, so it ended up being a learning experience instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40