I have a new Tattoo! - The story about the anchor

in #life7 years ago (edited)

We were supposed to get this tattoo way earlier, but a couple of days ago, it was finally the day!

My sisters and me decided long time ago that we wanted a tattoo of an anchor. Those mainsteam bullshit tattoos picked from any common tattoo sketchbook? Yes and no.


My sister getting stung by a needle


My father served in the Dutch Korps Mariniers and got himself a tattoo back then. Just like his father and older brother did. His tattoo is blurry, vague and practically undefined, but the concept of it is still there.

My dad's tattoo

With this in the back of our minds, we wanted one too. Not because we served - obviously - but to have a part of our father on us. So eventually we made an appointment with the guy who did my tattoos last year, and this weekend it was finally time for us to get some new ink!

My sisters wanted a simple, straight and minimalistic one. I wanted something bigger, more detailed - an actual picture sorta. I am a fan of dot shading and I was aiming for something like that.


Three girls walk into a barbershop.

No, this is not a joke, this is the actual story. Three girls walk into a barbershop, completely ignoring the big fat letters on the front door saying, 'No women allowed'. At least 10 guys with massive beards stared them down. They walked to the back of the shop and went down some tiny stairs. What's that? That is a tattooshop below a barbershop, sir!


Joey

There he is. The king of the hour. His name is Joey de Boer, a fantastic artist. When looking for an artist for my previous tattoos, I was looking for someone who had a steady hand, someone who could kick ass in getting straight lines on your skin. And also this time, he did not disappoint me.

He started putting our thoughts onto paper, put our words into lines and put our wishes on our bodies. Like I mentioned earlier, my sisters wanted a minimalistic anchor. They ended up with this!


Courtney and her tattoo


Samantha and her tattoo


Whereas my sisters had the same design, I required a more custom one. It is based upon the anchor which is placed on the baret of the Korps Mariniers. However, I did not like the crown, nor did my dad have it. Also, the rope is super close to the anchor on this one, but might get blurry when I get old and wrinkly. Also, my dad's original tattoo has the rope on the left side, and more loose too!


Source


Source

We ended up with this design.


Design of my tattoo

Soon after, he got his tools and started buzzing on me. This is the result!

And this is the beauty that he tattooed on me <3 I love it! It's placed on the back of my right leg, right above my ankle. As you can see, the shading is more dot-ey. Giving both the anchor more texture too!


My tattooooo!

I am very happy with the results and I can't wait for it to be healed. For now, I will just keep putting cream on it like a boss :)


In addition to Joey's great service and style, he found the blurry patch on my dad's hand a shame. As a former marine himself, he offered to fix up my dad's tattoo for free.



Also want one of these pretty footers? I do them for free! Check out this post for more information!




Sort:  

At the risk of sounding like my dad, just a general comment on the prevalance of tattoos these days ...

Wasn't there a time when having a tattoo was an expression of free thinking individuality?

Seems it's become more of a beauty treatment now.

Well, I do like the images and pieces of texts on my body so I guess it is a sort of beauty treatment. Though, I am still cautious with what I get tattooed. I know it will get more blurry or ugly as both the tattoo and my skin gel older, that's why I feel better if a tattoo has a meaning, so the actual image is not what I wanted, but a representation of what it reminds me of.

Interesting reasoning behind getting it done! Good job @sjennon!

Yeah, we've been thinking about this for at least two years I think. Happy I finally got it done.

Onto the next tattoo :D

Happy to hear that!

Joey de Boer is really a great artisit ! I love the minimalists tattoos of your sisters but I need to say that your tattoo is more beautiful than the other. It's detailed but also a bit minimalist and that's a good combo ! Congratulations to the artist who made it :)

Thank you very much! He did a wonderful job. We all are equally happy with the results.

Interesting post!
Cute tattoo @sjennon
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you :D

You're welcome

Looks great and I really enjoyed reading through the story and the whole process of why you got one! :)

Thank you <3 Glad you liked it!

Great story and awesome tattos. I'm considering of getting one myself :)

Thank you! Oo, cool. An anchor too or something else

I think of something else :P

What do you have in mind? :D

I was thinking of a snake starting at my shoulder :D

OO sweet. LIke a sleeve?

Yes exactly !

ahhh cool..

That's great. I have 2 small tattoos! I'm considering getting a cross on a chain around my ankle! I love tattoos but personally I think less is more, don't want too many.

Oo! Good luck with getting them! I love tattoos :)

What a beautiful and touching story...and very nice tattoo...I have a few myself...and the artist was awesome for fixing up your pops tattoo :) thanks for sharing

Thank you! I am glad you liked it.

What kind of tattoos do you have? :D

I have a half sleeve of Hawaiian flowers and I'm working on a sleeve of elephants..plus a few here and there ...I love body art ..

Screenshot_2017-06-25-14-39-56~01.png

Cool! I like elephanys :B

nice! i'm thinking about getting a tattoo. good choice!

Cool! What do you have in mind of getting?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69