After Terrible Injury - My Dad Rock Climbing Again at 66 Years Old

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This was my dad a year and a half ago.

dad-cast-injured.jpg

At 65 years old he had fallen off of a rock wall (he was very focused on a route and didn't hook into the autobelay) and had shattered both heels and forearm. His elbow and legs were broken. They put pins in his bones and just hoped that the bone would fill back in. Doctors realistically thought he would walk again, but with the use of a cane. My brother told me after his accident, "Looks like dad is gonna be an old man now." But my dad has always been a fighter and when he has a goal, he puts every ounce of effort he has into accomplishing it.

When my dad wanted to play golf well, he was outside at 2 in the morning hacking at balls. When he wanted to sing well, he was in the shower singing and in his car practicing with voice lessons. Most days during his recovery he was doing physical therapy exercises 4-6 hours a day and had churches praying for his recovery. He was a former 2X state champion gymnast so he had the drive to push himself physically in ways most wouldn't.

This is my dad now.

Fast forward to today. My dad is running on the treadmill several times a week, swimming and has started rock climbing. (Now when he climbs he always has someone watching him to make sure he hooks in properly.) This is a video from his first time back rock climbing after a long break and recovery at 66 years old. As you can see, he's not wearing climbing shoes because his feet were still too swollen to wear them.

My dad is an inspiration to me and hopefully some of you can find some motivation in this story as well. This video is a couple months old and now he's an even better climber than before the accident.

Sort:  

Wow 65 and rock climbing that rocks 😂 hope he heals quickly and keep on keeping on 👍

This is awesome, super happy for your dad. Nice reminder anything is possible with determination.

Thanks :) Yeah, I need to take after him more often.

Wow, way to go dad!

sooo hard to believe... Your dad have a warrior's mind, and a courageous heart. I'm very admirative and thank you for sharing this : bravo !

Yeah, I need a bit more of that mentality in my life sometimes :)

your pop a real one R-E-S-P-E-C-T

True true :)

Oh my goodness what an awful accident to happen I literally winced hearing about the broken bones, yet he looks like such a fighter (well done sir.)
I loved hearing about how much of an inspiration he is to you just goes to show when someone really wants something what they will do to get it.
Great Read.

Thanks, yeah I still can't believe how well he recovered :) My mom has had 2 knee replacements lately and is doing well as well.

Absolutely brilliant, and he seems to be smiling through it too.

You only live once, your daddy is very inspirating.

Listening to your "song" on open mic I can see that you resemble your dad in challenging the impossible. Thanks for encouraging us with this post.

lol I like how you put "song" in quotation marks. Tomorrow I'm going to record something a bit more straightforward :)

OK. I will try to stop by. You are cool.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sixexgames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54