GOOD TO BE BACK AFTER A BRIEF ILLNESS: Recounting my experience.

in #life6 years ago

Hello everyone, it’s been a while I posted and I have really missed updating you guys on the recent happenings in my life.

Well, today I am here to tell you the reason I have been away for a while and haven’t really posted anything serious for a while now.

Was on my new construction site on Monday and the work to be done was so much. We have three Electrical Engineers on site but I happen to be the most active amongst them, call me hardworking and you wouldn’t be mistaking. Actually my two colleagues focused on the erection of concrete low tension poles which would feed the three bedroom we are constructing.

IMG_20180614_183440.jpg
One part of my new construction site

IMG_20180614_183351.jpg
Construction of 3-bedroom bungalows

IMG_20180614_183358.jpg
The erected poles

I was basically on the other side of our construction site where we are also constructing Mixed-Use 2-bed and 1-bed apartments. Working on that part of the construction site can be very hectic and tasking and to think that I was the only one available to supervise the workers and contractors, was real hell for me.

I left the construction site office and walked down many kilometres to where the construction site is located and was already exhausted when I got there. I had no choice but to carry out my task of supervision.

I left the site office by 9:00am and was done with what I was doing by 6:30pm. I was so tired that I couldn’t even feel my legs. I reluctantly walked back to the office and the site bus was on standby to take us home.

IMG_20180614_184123.jpg
The site office

IMG_20180614_184429.jpg
The site bus

I got home, had my bath, my dinner and slept off. Woke up on Tuesday morning feeling feverish. I had a severe headache and was also very tired. Didn’t know what was wrong with me but obviously was not feeling too strong to set out for work that morning and so I had to call the office to report my state of health.

They insisted that I came to the office thinking I was faking the feeling of illness. I struggled to get out from the bed, had my bath and reluctantly went to the office. When they saw me, they knew for sure I wasn’t feeling alright and so the granted my request to be off from work that day.

I seized the opportunity to go to visit the hospital and run a blood test. The test results came and guess what, I had Malaria and Typhoid. Damn! Why not just Malaria or Typhoid? Must it be both? I was devastated but what could I do? Fight with nature? Lolz, it always wins and so I had no option but to go get drugs.

IMG_20180611_154357.jpg
Front view of the test result

IMG_20180611_154414.jpg
back view of the test result

I hardly fall sick but I knew why this happened to me at this point in time. The stress I went through on the construction site was one I had never subjected myself to and so my body reacted negatively to the change in bodily activity.

I thought about the drug I could get to cure myself of the deadly malaria parasite. Going for more expensive ones came to mind but my pocket was too dry to afford them and so I decided to go for the regular Amalar I was used to. It was cheap and effective so I didn’t mind, even though my brother who is a biochemist told me not to get it since it doesn’t work for him but hey, different strokes for different folks.

IMG_20180611_154322.jpg

IMG_20180611_154313.jpg

In addition to the malaria drug, I also had a pain relief drug at my disposal called Paracetamol which is prominent for the relief of migraines. Anyways, I couldn’t have taken the malaria drug without the pain relief drug as they are always recommended to be taken together by doctors and pharmacists.

IMG_20180611_154442.jpg

IMG_20180611_154449.jpg

Owk, I had dinner and it was time for the big deal, taking the drugs. I hate drugs and always feel punished when asked to take one, reason I hate the feeling of sickness. Well, I am on my own now as I am a bachelor and have been saddled upon the responsibility of taking care of myself. If I do not take care of myself when I am sick, who will? So I took out the drugs, five of them, and drank them all.

IMG_20180611_202932.jpg

IMG_20180611_203156.jpg

IMG_20180611_203244.jpg

There was no time for regrets as I was already feeling really sleepy after I had the drugs. I made my bed and slept off. That night, I slept so deep and even if a gun was shot in my room that night, I wouldn’t have heard a thing.

Woke up the next morning feeling a little better but still had the headache thing still going and so had to take another dose of Paracetamol. Had my breakfast and took the drug.

Thought I was gonna make it to work that day but I was too weak to. I decided to stay back home to recuperate and by the next day I was well again and fit for work.

IMG_20180426_073330.jpg
Ready for work

IMG_20180426_072803.jpg
It is good to be back

I really do wish and hope I don't fall ill anytime soon again. It’s an experience I wish I would never encounter again.

I hate sickness…

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

I thought Amalar pill Is less effective for Malaria ailment?

Hi @sistem!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with ocd - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Am happy you are back again, tell malaria to leave you alone o

Heheh thanks dearie. Malaria will surely hear

Hi @sistem
I think you should receive medical assistance and rest
Take care.

Yea sure. Thanks @teardrops. Will mever stress myself out like that again.

Thank God you okay..
Please do get some rest..

Amalar still exist? Hope you get much better soon!

Really enjoyed your article, it's doing me like I should quickly build my house!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85