Why the short posts?

in #life6 years ago

Hello Steemian fans, friends and followers

Just a quick update on what's been happening and why I'm only posting one liners.

In June we relocated from South Africa to the island of Mauritius. It's taken a while to get settled in and get everything up and running. Combined with a bout of food poisoning and me still being on my antibiotic protocol I haven't been feeling up to very much other than existing.

We've been able to go out for walks on the beach and I've even gone snorkeling for my first time. I took a minute to resist the panic of trying to breathe under water and your head telling you you can't. Lynton swam with me and after 15 mins I was tired so we headed back to shore. We did manage to see a couple of fish but the water was quite cloudy that day. I've only ever swum with flippers in a swimming pool and I've always enjoyed the feeling of gliding through the water. When I started getting tired out on the reef I told Lynton "I'm done" and I turned onto my back, aimed at the shore and finned shoreward.
I'm sure with time and practice I will be able to spend more time out amongst the fishies. Lynton goes for a snorkel every Saturday with his colleagues. He would go out every day if he could :)
38614901_10157529791164989_4549279254558277632_n.jpg
Pose off with a starfish. Photo by Segun Samson

So, for the most part I've been posting using the Steepshot app on my phone. It tends to be a bit iffy and very easily throws away my posts. My workaround has been to just keep the content as short as possible. However, the lack of letters seems to irritate some users who then see it as their civic duty to flag me. Not really much of a motivation to use the platform then.
I also felt discouraged by my feed, in that most of it was just strange upvote wars, whale fights dropping crypto.

I was actually considering letting the account lay dormant with automated upvotes for specific users. I've set up both my account using steemauto so that it automatically redeems the rewards and upvotes specific people or groups. I'm also registered on School of minnows who uses your voting power if it reaches 100% and you're not upvoting.

Paired together, my account was bringing in about .01 a day, which is more than it would have had if it was just laying dormant. So I would recommend going that route if you can't get to your account for a bit.

What made me decide to start writing again is @sultnpapper and @manorvillemike who have always been awesome supporters on the platform. I feel like at least for you two I need to explain myself :)

Going forward I'm going to be using Busy to post and track my account. The steemit interface makes it impossible to get updates and you end up hunting down your comments to see if you had any responses. I did try setting up Ginabot but it doesn't seem to work, and I also don't want to spend eternity on Dischord.

So that's what's been happening. Hopefully I'll have a bit more to say now using the Busy app.

We got word today that the cat's import permit has been approved! Now just waiting for their second blood test results to come through and then we can book their flight, hopefully for the 5th of September.

Hope you're keeping well
Lizelle

Sort:  

Glad all is working out @simplylizelle Steemit still fun for me even with the low price. It's an incentive for an old guy like me to get out see and experience things I ordinarily wouldn't do. Don't feel obligated to up-vote me. When you do you do.... be well.

Great news on the cats, I know how you must be missing them. I look forward to see you back around more and glad that you are starting to feel a little better. That move and then the food issue, you can't catch a break . Hopefully that is behind you and things will be looking up for the both of you.
You have been missed for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97