The goodbye of the last Gladiator

in #life7 years ago

The last goodbye

For their captain's last goodbye, they came in 67,000 at the Olympic Stadium in Rome.
The number 10 Giallorosso enters the field in the second half, with the two teams on the 1-1. Jerseys with his number, Giallorosse scarves, flags start waving around, and the crowd starts yelling his name “Totti Totti Totti”.
This is how Rome welcomes Francesco Totti, who today, after a 28-year marathon with 307 goals, ALWAYS in the same team, at 40 years eight months and 11 days, leaves the playing field wearing for the last time his loved colors.

totti.jpeg

An inimitable career, from the local fields to the Olimpico, 25 years in Serie A with the same desire to astonish everyone, having fun, inventing football and scoring avalanches of goals.

"This is it, unfortunately; the time that I never wanted to arrive has come." Francesco Totti after the last game of his career.

All eyes are on him as he completes his last walk around the Olympics stadium, bowing in front of his fans. Tears, disbelief, and glittering eyes coming from his teammates and from a public who does not believe that the end of an inimitable career has arrived.

The speech

Here we are. The moment has come. It looks like a concert. Unfortunately, this is the moment I hoped would never arrive. These days I read so many things about me. Beautiful, beautiful. I cried so much, every day, like a fool because twenty-five years are not easy to forget. With you behind, you that pushed me into good and bad times. Even in difficult moments, especially. And for that, I want to thank you all, though it is not easy. You know that I'm not of many words, but I think them. These days, with my wife around the table, I told her a few years lived with this unique shirt. I also wrote - indeed, we wrote - a letter for you. I do not know if I can read it. I try. I'll start or it will be late, it's dinner time and you're hungry. But I would stay for another 25 years. Thanks to Rome, thank you mom and dad. Thanks to my brother, relatives and friends. Thanks to my wife and my three children. I wanted to start from the end, from the greetings, because I do not know if I can read these lines through the end. It's hard to tell 28 years of history with few phrases. I would like to do it with a song or a picture, but I'm not capable of it. I've been trying to express myself through these years through my feet, with which I find it simpler. By the way, do you know what my favorite toy was? The ball and it still is. But at some point in life, you grow up. So I was told that time has come. Cursed time... is the same time that June 17, 2001, we wanted to pass quickly. We could not wait to see the referee whistle three times. I still get the goose skin thinking about it. Now time has come to knock and tell me that I have to grow, I am now a man and I will no longer feel the smell of grass, the wind in the face, and the joy of exulting. In this months I have questioned myself on why they are waking me up from this dream. Do you know when you are a child and dreaming something beautiful, and your mother wakes you up to go to school? And you want to go back that story, but you never can. Today it’s not a dream but the reality. I want to dedicate this letter to all of you. Children who have cheered for me, those who have grown up and maybe they are fathers now. And those who shout 'Totti gol'. I like to think that my career becomes a fairy tale for you to tell. Now it's really over; I take off the shirt for the last time. I'm bending it well, though I'm not ready to say that I’m done, and maybe I will never be. Sorry, if during this period I haven’t done any interviews to clarify my thoughts. But turning off the lights is not easy. Now I'm afraid; it's not the same thing as when you are in front of the goalpost, and you have to score a penalty kick. I can not see through the holes of the net what's out there. Give me some fear, this time I need you and your heat. What you've always shown me. With your love, I will surely turn the page and throw myself into a new adventure. This is the time to thank all my teammates, technicians, executives and presidents. All those who have been working with me in these years. The fans, the South Curve. A reference for us Romans and Romans. Romans and Romans is a privilege. Be the captain of this team was an honor. You are and you will always be in my life. I will stop getting excited with my feet, but my heart will always be there with you. Now I step down the stairs, into the locker room that welcomed me when I was a kid and I'm leaving now, that I'm a man. I am proud and happy to have given you 28 years of love. I love you!"

totti 1.jpg

The last goodbye of the eighth king of Rome.

Watch the full video here

Sources: 1, 2


Follow --> @simoneb
Sort:  

Yeah, it's hard to find someone so loyal to a team as him. 28 years without moving, he preferred loyalty and respect to money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67