Italian legend about male fairies called "Arfai"

in #life7 years ago

In every country there are some legends about fairies, gnomes or other little creatures. Sometimes legends from different countries have some differences, sometimes they are very similar, but in every case they are always really interesting for me. ^_^

I decided to start a series of contents about the italian folklore about fairies, so I cleaned all the books about it on our bookshelves to share a bit of our stories with you!

The story of today is about the Afai (or arfari), the male fairies. This male fairis are not reallu common in other countries, maybe the french Fayoux are the most similar to them.

The stories about Arfai come from the area of Torino (Nothern Italy) live under the water and they protect the river Dora Ripari, but they have a strange behaviour along the river! They are excellent laundry workers and if they watch a nice and kind girl who're washing her clothes (In the old time, when the girls and the women washed the clothes on the river, nit using the washing machine ^_^), they take away her clothes and the day after they bring the cloths back well cleaned  and with a wonderful smell! 

Sometimes, when they see that a girl is a lazy girl, the Arfai take away the cloths and they have fun to hide the clothes in different sort of places! 

Here in Tuscany region we don't know any Arfai, but sometimes clothes disappeared before to dry also here, especially one of a socks pair ;)

See ya soon 

Silvia

Sort:  

I love that thing ❤

While I love the legend (thank you so much for sharing it - being a huge fan of both folklore and Italy, this was a really delightful read)....socks are just plain evil ;)
song-chart-memes-socks-laundry.jpg

I knew it was Narnia! If it was a multiverse I should be receiving socks from other alternative realities.. 🤔

I love to think my lost socks in Narnia, I hope someone use them to have warm feet :D

@f3nix...maybe we're in a really unlucky universe that isn't meant to have socks?

@silviabeneforti i know, right? It kinda gives losing socks a happy upside...

Sounds a bit like the leprechauns of Ireland.

I think the same, even if the Arfai are more young and kind than Leprechauns and they have fun just with the clothes to wash ^_^ Maybe they are relatives :D
I have to study a bit more the old stories about the little people in Italy, because it's a part of our folklore that I know just a little bit .

I've been Italy twice and lost socks both times, lol. Never happens anywhere else!

lol ^_^ Arfai pay always attention to the socks :P

This is a great story! Sorry about losing socks in Italy! Come to Santa Barbara and lay out on the beaches, you will still have your socks when you leave :)
Well... most of the time! haha

In this moment I would to be in Santa Barbara, on the beach, because here we have many cold days full of rain :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80