Things Better Left Unsaid

in #life6 years ago

There are so many things that are really better left unsaid. So many people think that just because they have an opinion on something that everyone should listen and cherish that opinion. These people just don't get the fact that maybe they should just shut up. There is nothing gained by saying anything that they are saying. There is nothing gained by listening to what they have to say either but don't tell them that unless you are ready to be exploded on.

I have one person in my life who is this way. This person couldn't keep their mouth shut if their life literally depended on it. There is a time and a place for most things and they just don't get that in the slightest. This person's favorite victim to their constant rant is my almost 9 year old son. They like to yell and degrade my son every chance they get. There is not a reason in the world that this should be happening. There is absolutely nothing in this world that he can do that is so bad that he should have to listen to her crap. This person is also one of those people that you think to yourself every time you look at them, "what hole did you crawl out of and how do I get you back in it?". She is lazy and entitled and I have no idea how she actually got herself through the life that she has had and still thinks the way that she does. There are so many people who go through much less and are more grateful for the things that they have. She literally thinks that everything should be handed to her and that anyone who doesn't think so is wrong. She is one of those people.

Yesterday she decided to scream at my son because he is, in her words, "a disrespectful little piece of shit", the wording was bad enough. But she was saying this because he talks to her and shows her the same disrespect that she shows him constantly. While I agree that kids should respect their elders and that they should know their place, I also firmly believe that if you cannot find it within yourself to show respect to your children or the children around you, then you cannot expect to be shown respect. My son has been going through this stage where he is quite disrespectful, however I don't feel as though screaming at him or making him feel poorly about himself is going to help him to respect me or anyone around me. I am not certain where the notion that children pop out of the womb knowing what respect is and how to show it came from. These little beings that we gave life to know nothing until they are taught. They have to be taught either expressly by someone or they have to absorb the needed lessons from the world that goes on around them. The only things they know when they come out is that it is cold, bright and loud outside the wet, warm, safe place they grew for close to 10 months. They know the sound of the heartbeat of their mother and the tone of their mother's voice. If they are lucky they also know how to breathe and eat. These are basic things. But so many people assume that there are so many more advanced things that they should just automatically know. This is, of course, not the case in real life. This is where things get a little hairy.

Where the title of this particular post comes in, is right after I heard those inflammatory words come out of her mouth. I may or may not have completely lost my shit. I was standing 20 feet away when she decided to lay into my son instead of letting me handle whatever it was that my son apparently did. I am not always the most patient person and I know this. I yell a lot and there are times that I am not pleasant to be around. But I'll be dammed if someone that has no respect for anyone including herself tell my son that he needs to show more respect for other people. That is something that was probably better left unsaid. But, what she said was also probably better left unsaid too. Such is life though.

Sort:  

@silenyzena, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44