"Hey, That Reminds Me Of A Story" #1 Inaugural "Increasing Friends"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

@sighmanjestah "Hey, That Reminds Me Of A Story"

About This Series

I'm using posts that others have posted to springboard off of the bazillion memories in my brain, the ones that have been chugging around up there for the last 58 years. Hey, they might just Steem out of there and make room for a bazillion more. OK, back on task. Todays memory was prompted by the post of new Steemit member @dyandayang. If you get the chance to read her introduceyourself post please check it out. Actually, you sort of really should check it out so that hopefully you'll see the connection that short circuited my brain and prompted the memory. Also @dyandayang reminds me of my daughter Ariel, and what she would post, in fact they may be twins separated at birth. (Ok, that last parts not possible, but bare with me.)

Thank you @dyandayang for the short-circuit and the Steem release!

https://steemit.com/itineranp/@dyandayang/dear-self-i-ll-be-with-you-again-soon-and-we-ll-be-better

How My 1 Best Friend Became My 2 Best Friends

(Yea, I know that doesn't make sense. Only 1 thing can be best right. Well, maybe that will be another story)

Delia

I was busy at work one day, selling drugs, (I was a pharmacist so that's OK) when my drug wholesaler representative, Chuck, stopped by for a visit.
It had been a while since I'd seen him as he had been on an extended vacation overseas, specifically Singapore. He had a large photo album with him. Oh Great I thought, " vacation pictures." No, really, I was excited to see them as I rarely got to go anywhere.
So as I am sitting down at my desk, Chuck is explaining who the people are; daughter, son-in-law, grand-daughters, beautiful scenery, beach scenes, etc..
Typical vacation photos.
Then, I came across a photo of a young gal on the beach, who was obviously not one of Chucks relatives.
"Who's this?" I asked.
"Oh, that's Delia, she's from the Philippines. She's the nanny, the cook, the maid, general all around gal friday. She is just the sweetest person you could ever meet."
"Well she looks cute." I said as I closed the photo album and then Chuck tried to sell me on the "next greatest thing to sell in your pharmacy."
I got up from my desk to get back to work filling prescriptions.

Enter Verlin

So in walks Verlin and plops down in my chair, the one I just recently vacated.
"Hey Rick, Chuck, how ya doin'"
Verlin would be my best friend, the 1 referred to in the title at the top, if you are following me.
"Good Ver, how'd your day go?"
"Just another day in paradise!", he replied, as he started leafing through the photo album.
I watched Verlin out of the corner of my eye as he was looking at the photos, and he was asking questions of Chuck, who's this etc... just like I had and then he started flipping the pages faster, sort of thinking, "Ok, enough of these photos" when he flipped back a page and pointed to a photo (you're probably ahead of me on this one, if you've been following)
"Who's that?"
Yea, I know, Deja vu.
"That's Delia, the nanny/maid/cook/gal, she's one of the nicest people you'll meet."
"Oh, hey, ah, do you have her email address or phone #?"
"Sure", said Chuck laughing, "she lives with my daughter, you goof-ball"
"Oh, yea, I guess that makes sense"

Exit Verlin, Email In Hand, Smiling

So, to make a long story short(cause there is quite a bit that happens between, maybe I'll share that later) Verlin gets married to Delia. They will be celebrating their 13th anniversary in July, and that's "How My 1 Best Friend Became My 2 Best Friends"
Verlin & Delia

If you made it to the end, I'd like to tell you how I used to believe I had a part in getting Verlin and Delia together.

I used to think.

You see, I used to think "Wow, what a coincidence, a freaky thing, look what I did."
Yea, some would say coincidence, maybe even a fluke, or synchronicity, maybe chance, good luck, fortune or kismet. I used to think that, but not anymore.

I now see it as the Providence of God, in the continual care over his creation.

He used me, His creation, to bring these 2 dear friends, to further His Kingdom.

Now, as I sit here, tears in my eyes, I know that these 2 beautiful friends are here by the Providence of God.

Acts 17:28
for in Him we live and move and have our being, as also some of your own poets have said, ‘For we are also His offspring.’(NKJV)

Soli Deo gloria
SDG
Special thanks to @surgo @rebeccaryan and @papa-pepper

Sort:  

This is amazing, @sighmanjestah! Y.Y Thanks a loooot. <3 Wow! You are a great person, I can tell :))))

Your welcome @dyandayang, if there is anything I can do to help you in your Steeming career don't hesitate to ask.
SDG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37