How to be Grateful - The Attitude of Gratitude - My Take On It

in #life7 years ago (edited)

How to be grateful? Sounds simple right? Here's a video on what helps to keep me positive.

When I look back, the simple practice of having gratitude managed to play an important role towards how I am today.

In the last two years, my interactions with multiple people have helped me realise that I am quite a positive person. But how? It got me thinking.

I'd like to attribute this to two people - 1. my mother - My mother has remained a determined soul at all odds - I get that from her. To just plough through and how to be resilient.

But today, this video is about the second person, and that's Oprah!!

The one major teaching I learnt from watching Oprah as a child is "attitude of gratitude"

At home we were always told to be grateful for what we had, but I feel we seem to start doing that out of just habit. But what changed by listening to Oprah was that I became more aware of what was a blessing in my life.

I started a diary. Every evening, I would write down a minimum of five things a day that I had been grateful for.This daily practice that I started at the age of maybe 13/14 helped me realise the good that I had experienced in the day and definitely made me a whole load more appreciative, lighter and more joyous.

Now this sounds great and easy to do when you have a good life - right?... no wrong... there are many out there, who are doing well, but have a horrible habit to crib, be hyper and to just be restless about their lives. There's a sense of dissatisfaction in them.

Which is why, when I meet many such people, they wonder, how with the way things have been with my health and life in general, how then, do i remain positive and motivated about life - one of my main answers to that is - being grateful.

There has been enough research done on this, and even Forbes say that "gratitude maybe one of the most overlooked tools that we all have access to everyday"

So here's what I'm saying - every evening, write down a minimum of 5 things you were grateful for in the day. Some times, it'll be hard - but you can even begin the basics of being able to brush your teeth, or having good wifi!! But jokes apart - seriously look at your day. Do this for 21 days, you'll automatically see changes in how you feel, how you see yourself and how the world takes to you.

If you are a YouTube, Instagram or a Facebook person - then please do connect with me there too.

Sort:  

Solid video @shruti, much to learn from this about the way to go about in life. I look forward to reading a lot more from you!

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45