You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling: Why I Chose to Homeschool

in #life7 years ago

Having also been homeschooled in a large family, it's hard to disagree with any of this. Although I don't have any children, I can't imagine sending them into the public school system.

But ultimately, anything goes. The two homeschool kids I hung out with most growing up, one is a lawyer, the other a cashier.

Sort:  

I wondered if you and your siblings were homeschooled. The way you carry yourselves in your videos and the writing style you have had a certain feel to it - probably because I grew up similarly, haha.

Agreed, ultimately the choice is there for the individual family. Like anything else we choose to do, we decide where we want to end up.

Well said. Yes, my family almost developed our own micro-culture from spending so much time together. Pros and cons, but ultimately I feel truely blessed to have had such a childhood,

One think worth mentioning about the stereotypes homeschoolers face, although not necessarily accurate, I believe the stereotype of homeschoolers being proficient academically was one we took to heart. I think it helped give us a lot of confidence and a drive to learn. Something I never appreciated until I got to college and felt gifted in comparison to many of my peers.
I guess I've always found that interesting, how cultural stereotypes can become self-fulfilling. Unfortunately, there seem to be more negative stereotypes than positive ones.

It is funny how we move in our out of the stereotypes of society. We want to belong and we want to be different at the same time.

I hear you on feeling like a gifted student in college. The study habits I built during homeschooling were of enormous value to me in college. The culture of excellence at home

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50