10 things that you should definitely do before turning 30

in #life6 years ago (edited)

live-your-dream-2045928_1920.jpg

1.When in doubt, say hello - Take a chance. Put yourself out there. Don’t live a life of regret. When in doubt, say hello.

2.Turn off your phone completely for a weekend - Watch a sunrise with friends. Talk about life while watching the stars. Really listen to people when they open up to you. Be silly and laugh until your stomach hurts. One of the most valuable gifts you can give to another person is your undivided attention.

3.Write an answer on Quora - By the time you’re close to being 30, you’ll have a wealth of life experiences to share. Don’t just keep them to yourself. Pay it forward and share your wisdom with others on Quora. I started only writing recently, already have over 1 million views and I get constant “thank you” emails from readers. It feels good knowing that others can benefit by learning from my experiences. Being authentic and sharing your world with others can change people’s lives. Type away, my friend.

4.Take the job that challenges you to grow - Earlier in my career, I’ve taken jobs that didn’t challenge me, yet I stayed in those jobs for a while because it was comfortable. It was a mistake. Looking back, I wish I took the jobs that challenged me to constantly grow. It would have helped me build additional skills and wisdom sooner. I realized that: You’re either moving forward or you’re moving backward.

5.Buy a Blender - The Nutribullet and Vitamix are both awesome blenders (if you needed a recommendation). Anyway, I love salads, but I don’t make really delicious ones at home. So for me, it was always a challenge eating enough vegetables and fruits every day and my body definitely showed it. I was most out of shape when I lived in North Carolina, where my diet consisted of hot wings pretty often. That all changed when I started making a green smoothie (kale, mixed greens, spinach, peaches, blueberries, apples and bananas) every morning for breakfast. I started to slim down and my cholesterol went down substantially too! I wish I implemented this sooner. Nowadays, I’ll crave a green smoothie if I haven’t had it for a while. Invest in your health. It’ll thank you down the road.

6.Conquer a fear - If you’re afraid of heights, go parasailing. If you’re afraid of rejection, ask someone out. If you’re afraid of not doing well at work, go out there, work hard and crush it. Face your fears.

7.Dance all night - There’s something exhilarating about listening to music you love and dancing the night away with friends. Dance like no one’s watching.

8.Take on a 30 day challenge - Whether it’s eating a green smoothie every morning for breakfast or going for a 5 mile run in the afternoon, 30 day challenges are great because it’ll teach you discipline. Consistency in effort is key. Daily habits compound over time.

9.Show your family the appreciation they deserve - Stop taking your loved ones from granted. Make dinner for them. Give them a big hug. Help them with chores. Tell them thank you for what they’ve done for you. Love makes life fulfilling.

10.Fall in love - “The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.” Yup, I just quoted Moulin Rouge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70