Sleeping outside in Amsterdam - Metal, cardboard and a construction site.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

After I was too late to book a hostel outside of Amsterdam, 

I faced the same problem as last time. Where do I close my eyes for a few hours to be fresh and productive again?

 

I thought about going to the man who gave me a mattress and blanket last time but then just kept walking around at 1 AM. On the street I met a metal fan who told me that he would buy me a beer. We walked 20 minutes and arrived at the metal bar. 

I got my beer and later convinced the barkeeper to make me a small one for my last 2 euros and then drank it within 10 seconds. 

Some people wore superhero outfits and moshed to the very virtuosic music. Extremely fast drums and an incredible guitar.

At 4 the bar closed and a guy who wanted to make an after-hour party asked us to come with him. I told him that I would like to come and take a nap on the couch. He said yes and I was happy. The thing was: Nobody else wanted to come with him. So after half an hour of trying to convince the hot woman and the other metal heads he was driving away with his bike and told me to follow him. After 5 meters he drove faster and then disappeared into the night. 

I felt disappointed and sad because he didn't keep his word and the people who were still standing outside told me that this is Amsterdam and that I should get used to it.

When thinking about it now, I am glad that I didn't join him. I try to only hang out with good people and didn't see that he was a schmuck.

Before we arrived at the bar I saw cardboard on the way. Lots of. I first walked the wrong street and later found it again. I took as many as I was able to carry with me. 

Around the corner was a construction site but all fences were connected and it wasn't possible to open them so I continued. Only 50 meters later I found the perfect spot. The fence was open and after I checked for approaching cars I lifted the fence out of its socket and disappeared behind it.

Nobody could see me because the fence was covered with plastic. I put some of the cardboard onto the cold road and a few above me as a cover. In the first 30 minutes it wasn't cold. The heat of my body was staying under the paper but as I was cooling down the effect vanished and I had to get up and leave the place. It is possible that I slept for 30 minutes but I am not sure. 

Once I found a warm shelter in McDonalds, chilled for 5 minutes and then got woken up by the friendly employee I went to the streets and made money for the first coffee of the day.

Hmmm! I was the first in the cafe and ordered, as always, an espresso. 

Good that I asked a man who was leaving the city earlier, if I could take care of his leftover marihuana, papers and grinders. He was on the way back to Brazil and immediately took three little plastic bags out of his jacket. He gave me so much weed and hash, I already smoked a few joints and there is still stuff for 10. Yes!

Why am I so happy and why is this an outstanding day?

Because I now have a G-Pen. The one for 40 euros. It's a small "vaporizer". It works really good but the battery is a bit small. Who cares. I needed to do something for my health!

I didn't buy it in cash though. My friend works at the smartshop and bought it for me. I already paid him 5 euros and will continue until the 40 euros are paid back. Only 8 days! Easy!

He is a real angel and I am very thankful. That's what a man like me needs. Private mini-financiers who help me to reach my goals. Who know that it is too difficult to save money for me in this expensive metropolis named Amsterdam.


Image by Wikipedia

Edit: Typos


Sort:  

I can't imagine how cold it must have been. When we were there in November I froze my butt off. Thank you for telling us your experience.

Hi, yes, it wasn't freezing but still cold. I don't have a sleeping bag or blankets because I don't want that people see that I am on the street and so that I don't need a backpack. With a sleeping bag it's good but then you also need a cardboard or iso-mattress. Thanks for your reply, it's my pleasure.

That guy was really a douche to abandon you like that. But you are right, good riddance!

Thanks that you are on my side

Stay optimistic Martin!

OK, you too!

You're stories are amazing. Such willpower you have. Keep going, i hope you achieve your goals !

For me that's nothing special, good that there are people who like it. One day I want to have more money though.

I think many people would be interested to read your street-stories from everyday... I would post more often posts like this... Try it out...

I followed your advice, thx!

I agree with you liondani, i'm sure you'll make money if you carry on writing like this!

hi friends, I am new in steemit. see my first post in
https://steemit.com/@fahmiauliasfr
follow and got my vote. thank you

Weren't you able to find shelter there? There are quite a lot places where there is free shelter.

Near Waterlooplein (metro) there is one.

Good luck in Amsterdam

I don't go to shelters, it's humiliating and dangerous.

I had a problem with my online hotel booking when we arrived the hotel didnt have our booking even though I had the confirmation print out with me . We had to walk the streets of Amsterdam for hours up and down the narrow stairs of the terriced hotels to find all rooms fully booked . We finally found a room and it was somthing out of Bates Motel lol we had our room door handle messed with many times during the night , our friends slept with their bed against the door lol. Next day we found the boatel omg it was great we fed ducks from the boat room window with views of an old submarine right opposite . You had to get a ferry to and from the boatel into Amsterdam but its Free and a great ride. Amazing place but book in advance .

Thanks for the little story. i wanted to go to the boat once but wasn't able to make the 30 euros.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80